Opinion


SUNDAY, JAN. 22, 2017


SUNDAY, JAN. 22, 2017

An actual death panel

Back in 2009 right-wing pundits misleadingly claimed that "death panels" would be included in Affordable Care Act legislation to decide who would live and who would die. If the ACA were to be repealed and not replaced with a reasonable plan, it would be ironic that this Congress would then become in fact the de facto death panel for many poor and sick who currently have coverage.

Continue reading »


SUNDAY, JAN. 22, 2017

Be smart on repeal

It is the height of folly to repeal a health care program on which millions depend without a proven reliable and affordable act to take its place. Surely we are smarter than that.

Continue reading »


SUNDAY, JAN. 22, 2017

Clapper has been wrong

In reference to Trudy Rubin's Jan. 11 column: Everyone has the right to their opinion based on their beliefs, education and research. However, Rubin has made it clear that her opinion regarding James Clapper, the director of national intelligence, and the numerous "intelligence" agencies in this country are worthy of praise. Allow me to disclose a different opinion based on some facts.

Continue reading »



SUNDAY, JAN. 22, 2017

DeVos bad for schools

There's a dangerous tendency to take for granted the role and structure of America's public schools. Americans are generally unaware of the very real threats currently facing our public schools. Now we're confronted with Trump's nomination of Betsy DeVos for secretary of education. Billionaire DeVos' vision for public education could radically undermine the role our public schools have historically played in giving hope to America's underclass for a better life through educational attainment.

Continue reading »


SUNDAY, JAN. 22, 2017

Financial regulation vital

So the Republicans want us to trust the big banks and other financial companies. Every single panic, crash, recession and depression in this country's history has been caused by big banks and financiers. And we should now trust them? Why?

Continue reading »


SUNDAY, JAN. 22, 2017

Fox skips Crowley story

Frankly I was surprised. As one who follows the news closely, I read reports in the mainstream media about Monica Crowley's alleged incidents of plagiarism. Crowley, a conservative radio and television commentator, with connections to Fox News, was picked by the Trump transition to be a communications director for the National Security Council. After the plagiarism issue surfaced, it wasn't long before she withdrew her name from consideration.

Continue reading »


SUNDAY, JAN. 22, 2017

Fund AIDS, TB fight

Doug Clark's new year story helps us empathize with others and see a different perspective about our recent election ("A new year, a new knee, and I'm ready to go," Jan. 9.).

Continue reading »



SUNDAY, JAN. 22, 2017

Keep charters accountable

I am writing about the article "DeVos to push for school choice amid opposition from unions." With the appointment of Betsy DeVos, from Detroit, for secretary of education position in Trump's cabinet, I have to wonder more about charter schools. DeVos is a believer of not only charter schools, but also in little oversight of them as well. This effect has been disastrous for Detroit, in terms of education standards, and a waste of taxpayer money.

Continue reading »


SUNDAY, JAN. 22, 2017

Lay out replacement first

I've had a cough for over two weeks. I bought over-the-counter medications and a humidifier to try to treat it at home, because, with the holidays, the wait times at urgent care were three-plus hours.

Continue reading »


SUNDAY, JAN. 22, 2017

Learn before tweeting

With every day that passes, Donald Trump opens his mouth with a resulting loss to a company, institution, private individual or country. A recent tweet was "the value of the dollar is too high," resulting in a reduction in the market value of same.

Continue reading »






Blogs


Parting Shot — 2.21.17

Cleone Hermsen, of Carroll, Iowa, expresses her criticism while listening to Sen. Joni Ernst, R-Iowa, during a veterans roundtable event at Maquoketa City Hall on Tuesday in Maquoketa, Iowa. Iowa’s ...



On the map

Earlier this year Bob Isitt was dining with his brother at a restaurant in the Pentagon, where Bob's brother works. The woman taking their order asked Bob where he's from. ...