Arrow-right Camera

Opinion


FRIDAY, MAY 19, 2017

Fri., May 19, 2017

Women, be yourself

Society today is constantly telling women to "be themselves" but "not that way." At a very young age, we are pressured to fit a certain mold. It's time we stop telling women how to be and start letting them be themselves. We have pressure to be girly and feminine and petite. Yet we also have pressure from people trying to break stereotypes to be big, unapologetic, sporty and not girly. Why can't we be both?

Continue reading »

THURSDAY, MAY 18, 2017

Thu., May 18, 2017

Bad for small business

The Republican leadership's plan now headed to the Senate repealing the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and replacing it with a poor substitute would prove particularly harmful for my business and for the more than 4 million small-business owners, employees and self-employed entrepreneurs who have gained access to affordable coverage under the landmark health care law.

Continue reading »


Thu., May 18, 2017

Disappointed with ad

I was saddened (but not surprised) that you allowed the "Shame on you, Cathy" full page ad that ran May 9 to contain so many false facts.

Continue reading »


Thu., May 18, 2017

Election commission ignores real threat

What makes the exercise especially insufferable is that the country could use a nonpartisan commission of experts to protect the next U.S. election from interference from hackers and foreign intelligence agencies.

Continue reading »




Thu., May 18, 2017

Preexisting mindset?

Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers' recent column (May 5 edition) seems to reveal preexisting conditions of her own: deafness to her constituents, blindness to health care realities and mental delusions about the impacts and effectiveness of Trumpcare.

Continue reading »

WEDNESDAY, MAY 17, 2017

Wed., May 17, 2017

Basic responsibility

My compliments to Bob Strong for his May 5 letter, "Right thing to do." Universal medical coverage may not be an individual right but it is certainly a government responsibility and obligation. It provides for the common defense against disease and injury. It efficiently promotes the general welfare and insures domestic tranquility. Health care for everybody is essential to secure the blessings of liberty to ourselves and our posterity. We have forgotten and forsaken the purpose of our government and ignored the establishment of justice for all.

Continue reading »



Wed., May 17, 2017

Bravo to France

I want to applaud the citizens of France for their wisdom and intelligence to vote for Emmanuel Macron as their president. In my opinion, Marine Le Pen was a female version, if not worse, compared to our current dictator. Sadly, the U.S. election process being hacked by the Russians impaired and blinded so many U.S. voters to believing that hatred and bigotry were the only solutions to "Make America Great Again."

Continue reading »



Wed., May 17, 2017

Dan Heyman: My arrest as a reporter struck a chord

CHARLESTON, West Virginia – For someone like me who is constantly checking email on my phone, one odd thing about getting put in jail is how suddenly you’re almost totally cut off. I was arrested last week after asking Health and Human Services Secretary Tom Price a question about the American Health Care Act while he walked toward a meeting in the West Virginia State Capitol. He didn’t respond, so I asked a few more times, holding my phone out to record the reply he didn’t make. The criminal complaint accused me of a misdemeanor – “willful disruption of governmental processes” – and said I was “aggressively breaching the secret service agents.”

Continue reading »



Wed., May 17, 2017

Vote Miller for LPOSD

I am so impressed with the recent candidates who are running in the Lake Pend Oreille School District. Richard Miller is a no-nonsense individual, who is straight forward and will answer your questions clearly. If he doesn't know the answer, he will admit it and research the information. He worked his way through school and wants to help allow opportunities for other students who are willing to put their effort into it.

Continue reading »

TUESDAY, MAY 16, 2017




Blogs




Europe Tour 2017: Chapter Five

SARAJEVO, Bosnia Herzegovina - Week four of my four months of travel throughout Europe is now in the books. The official count for my journey without adult supervision is five ...





>>