The Spokesman-Review

Opinion


WEDNESDAY, NOV. 2, 2016

WEDNESDAY, NOV. 2, 2016

S-R should back Biviano

The S-R endorsement (Oct. 9) of Shelly O'Quinn over Andrew Biviano in the county commissioner District 2 race is disappointing. You give many of the reasons why Biviano is the one we need at this time: smart-justice reforms, STA support and his understanding of our economic development opportunities. This county is bursting at the seams with opportunity for smart growth and improved quality of life for all its citizens. Andrew understands all this and is ready.

Continue reading »


WEDNESDAY, NOV. 2, 2016

Volz more experienced

As in the primary, the choice for 6th District representative couldn't be clearer. Mike Volz has far more substantive experience in managing large organizations, working with the complexities of governmental budgets and understanding just what makes the economy successful. Mike will also be the only CPA in either house, a skill set sorely needed in Olympia.

Continue reading »


WEDNESDAY, NOV. 2, 2016

What about Bush emails?

In response to Wayne Gebhardt's letter ("Clinton deceptive," Oct. 14): It is difficult for me to understand the complete dismissal of a candidate as qualified as Hillary Clinton, because of her email situation.

Continue reading »

TUESDAY, NOV. 1, 2016



TUESDAY, NOV. 1, 2016

Move on after election

Please take a minute and imagine it is Nov. 9th. The election is over. All votes are counted. No more yelling about inappropriate sexual behavior, improper use of emails and all the other extraneous discussions. Unfortunately, your candidate lost. It may have been in the primaries, but it doesn't matter. The election is over. Take a deep breath. You are disappointed. You are sad. But the election is over.

Continue reading »


TUESDAY, NOV. 1, 2016

Noxious specter re-emerges

The following appeared in your paper a year ago. The intervening months underscore the importance of the message, and I hope you will publish it again. I added one word: "bullying."

Continue reading »




TUESDAY, NOV. 1, 2016

Vote for restored dignity

I woke up this morning and checked my address to make sure I still lived in the United States. We have a man running for president who encourages disrespect, sexual harassment, bullying and incites domestic terrorism. His claims of "rigged" voting are frightening, to say the least.

Continue reading »

MONDAY, OCT. 31, 2016

Jeff Fisher has never won a championship and has a career winning percentage of .518. (Matt Dunham / Associated Press)

MONDAY, OCT. 31, 2016, 8:33 P.M.

Norman Chad: Jeff Fisher your basic break-even coach

Editor’s note: This week Couch Slouch is presenting several sets of disturbing facts and figures – all verified by an independent auditor – in regard to the interminable, inexplicable NFL coaching career of Jeff Fisher. Some of these numbers might shock and jolt people’s sensibilities; reader discretion is advised. Jeff Fisher is tied for 11th, with Bill Parcells, for career victories among NFL head coaches. Tied for 11th! That is a lot of victories.

Continue reading »


MONDAY, OCT. 31, 2016

CMR a follower

Today on TV I heard Cathy McMorris Rodgers say, "I lead by example." I beg to differ. For most of my life, I was a Republican deeply disturbed by the neo-cons the first 10 years of this century. Then in 2010, the whack-jobs in the Tea Party invaded and now the alt-right has taken over. This stopped being the Republican party long ago.

Continue reading »



MONDAY, OCT. 31, 2016

Lichty accessible to public

It's been a busy political season with debates, candidate forums and all manner of candidate outreach designed to inform voters. These opportunities to engage our candidates are important voter education tools. When candidates decline to participate, it robs voters of the opportunity to know their legislators. Jeff Holy is one such candidate. He has refused to debate Shar Lichty, his opponent in the 6th Legislative District, Position 2 race, and has been missing in action at any number of forums and panels.

Continue reading »





Blogs

Big fish meets special needs

FISHING -- The list of winners published last week after the 2016 Lake Pend Oreille Fall Fishing Derby has a lot of untold stories to go along with them. One ...



Audit: Teacher evals error laden

An audit by an independent education research group found that 99 percent of Idaho teacher evaluations reviewed were completed incorrectly, reports Idaho Education News; the audit turned up hundreds of ...


Looking forward to Wednesday

Can't wait for the inevitable calls to the City Desk tomorrow, from readers insisting that the S-R ignored Pearl Harbor Day. Readers don't always grasp that stories and photos relating ...





Sections


Profile

Contact the Spokesman

Main switchboard:
(509) 459-5000
Customer service:
(509) 747-4422
Newsroom:
(509) 459-5400
(800) 789-0029