Arrow-right Camera

Opinion


MONDAY, OCT. 30, 2017

Mon., Oct. 30, 2017

Football ruined

I am sick and tired of politics, and now the "kneelers." Have to bring in politics to spoil a good game of football. Grrrr!

Continue reading »


Mon., Oct. 30, 2017

Keeping Salish alive

Kudos to The Spokesman-Review for reporting on such an overlooked and underappreciated issue, the saving and continuation of an indigenous language that was on the verge of extinction (Oct. 15). The Kalispel Tribe, the Spokane Tribe, along with the Coeur d'Alenes were in our region from the beginning. It would be a shame to lose any part of that rich heritage. Thank you to the Kalispel Tribe for opening the Salish Immersion School. Good for you and good for all of your people!

Continue reading »


Mon., Oct. 30, 2017

Kneeling in protest

Donald Trump said that taking a knee during the national anthem is the same as sitting — it is disrespectful. But growing up Catholic, I know that taking a knee is genuflection, a form of kneeling. This is a sign of respect and/or devotion. It is something done when entering a Catholic Church, done during the Mass and other services, all to acknowledge the presence of Christ. And note the well-known painting of Washington praying in the snow at Valley Forge on one knee.

Continue reading »


Mon., Oct. 30, 2017

Liking the Trump ride

Once again, Shawn Vestal was reduced to sophomoric, unprofessional unpatriotic and offensive name-calling when he referred to participation in the Trump administration as "Mr. Toad's Wild Ride" on Oct. 13.

Continue reading »


Mon., Oct. 30, 2017

McMorris Rodgers blocked vote

Tom Horne's Sept. 14 letter ("Read CMR's comments") is very misleading. Repeatedly, Cathy McMorris Rodgers has simply parroted Republican speakers of the House – Reps. John Boehner and Paul Ryan -- with no mind of her own. Nevertheless, she is listed among House Republican leadership. As such, she joined the leadership's block of a full House vote on the June 27, 2013, bipartisan comprehensive immigration reform bill passed by the Senate, even though it had enough votes to pass the House at the time. Enough House Republicans joining Democrats favored the bipartisan Senate bill for it to become law with then-President Obama's signature had Republican House leaders, including McMorris Rodgers, allowed a vote by the full House.

Continue reading »


Mon., Oct. 30, 2017

New blood for council

Time to vote your ballots. The city of Spokane Valley has had some ups and downs (every city does); this council has focused well on its business-friendly approach by streamlining many processes. Having occasion to call City Hall and council members with questions, I've found they are efficient, caring, and get back to you with answers quickly. The City Council is doing a decent job, so I recommend retaining them.

Continue reading »



Mon., Oct. 30, 2017

Simple bicycling tips

Virginia Pearsall had the misfortune to cross paths with a cyclist named Justin Haller on the Centennial Trail in Kendall Yards. Haller's recklessness deserves to be called out. I am an experienced cyclist and used to live in Kendall Yards. I ride there often. Haller screwed up. Let me count some of the ways:

Continue reading »


Mon., Oct. 30, 2017

Stop the trains

While California continues to burn due to epic drought caused by global warming, EPA head Scott Pruitt gleefully proclaimed that "the war on coal is over." Has it occurred to anyone else that this person is criminally insane.

Continue reading »


Mon., Oct. 30, 2017

The root of hatred

This is response to the Oct. 15 article, "The Study of Hate." We don't need to enroll in a Hate Studies program to understand how hate works. No person is immune from the capacity of feeling or expressing hatred, so cannot claim a moral high ground. It is not confined to white supremacists. Consider the Antifa movement. Certain members have at times become angry and violent.

Continue reading »


Mon., Oct. 30, 2017

True heroes support equality

There is an association between Sue Lani Madsen's opinion piece railing against Muslims, Roy Moore's primary win in Alabama, the ascendancy of Steve Bannon, the abysmal response of Donald Trump to the Puerto Rican crisis, the re-elections of our do-nothing Rep. McMorris Rodgers, and the rise of the alt-right, which has to do with their common vision of what America is and what it represents.

Continue reading »


Mon., Oct. 30, 2017

Trump unfit to lead

Donald Trump is a sick man. He praised himself repeatedly for doing a great job in Puerto Rico, while San Juan's mayor was pleading for clean water and food. Then he blamed the Puerto Ricans themselves for their desperate condition. Did he understand that they are U.S. citizens? Or was he put off by their darker skins?

Continue reading »



Mon., Oct. 30, 2017

Wiser the wiser choice

As I read the Oct. 25 article comparing Spokane Public Schools board candidates Mike Wiser and Jennifer Thomas, I was struck by the stark difference of opinion.

Continue reading »

SUNDAY, OCT. 29, 2017

Sun., Oct. 29, 2017

Ban nuclear weapons

On Oct. 7, The Spokesman printed an article announcing the awarding of the 2017 Nobel Peace Prize to the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN). Washington Physicians for Social Responsibility and Ground Zero are both partner organizations of ICAN, and here in Spokane, Peace and Justice Action League, Veterans For Peace Chapter 35, and Pax Christi all formed a strong coalition of support for the anti-nuclear efforts of these groups.

Continue reading »




Blogs


The Wednesday Slice question

Why do you put up outdoor holiday lights? A) So when, many years from now, the three little boys across the street think about their childhood Christmases, they will remember ...