Arrow-right Camera

Opinion

WEDNESDAY, MAY 2, 2018


Labrador over Little

There are solid reasons I cannot vote for Brad Little to be governor of Idaho. He opposed "life begins at conception" legislation in 2006. He voted against traditional marriage in 2004 and 2006. In 2006 he praised Planned Parenthood Services for "significantly reducing our spending on Medicaid." Brad Little said tax increases are necessary and inevitable, then voted for a $200 million increase in taxes.

Continue reading »


Take shootings seriously

For a while, school shootings have been a big deal, and there have been several walkouts all around the world to support this cause. At Mead High School, there was a walkout about a month ago. At the walkout, we paid tribute to the people that unfortunately died in the Freeman shooting. We then proceeded to walk around the school and re-enter through the main door symbolizing the only way in our school now.

Continue reading »


Weissman for state representative

Ellen Weissman exemplifies the values we all cherish. She has served the needs of families and youth as a teacher. She is currently serving our seniors as director of the Sandpoint Area Senior Center. Ellen has always focused on the personal needs of each individual, regardless of age, political or other organizational affiliation.

Continue reading »

TUESDAY, MAY 1, 2018



Firearm charge dropped

Considering all the controversy and consternation over firearms now, it seems ludicrous to me that prosecutors chose to drop the firearm charge against Marquise J. Leonard, ("Man who pointed gun at teens sentenced," April 25, 2018).

Continue reading »


Idaho Gives is May 3

Having worked for nonprofits for much of my life, I have always had the utmost respect for those who give their time and those who give financially to nonprofits they support. That is why on May 3, I get my chance to participate and support a local nonprofit of my choice during Idaho Gives – the largest day of 24-hour online giving in the state of Idaho.

Continue reading »


Tax red herring

Political cartoonist Michael Ramirez is a bad joke. The Sunday (April 22) cartoon about death and taxes is extremely misleading, and could only come from someone who sympathizes with the poor, put-upon "one percent." People like Ramirez want to make regular folks think that inheritance taxes are a threat to them. Regular folks don't have estates at death worth over 10 million dollars.

Continue reading »


Terry Flores: Survey on support for Snake River dams misleading

The Spokesman-Review recently reported on a poll conducted by special interest groups that have been campaigning for decades for removal of hydropower dams on the Snake River (“Poll shows Washington voters choose salmon over dams,” March 31, 2018). Not surprisingly, their results purport to show that – wait for it – Washington voters also support dam removal! Yet even a brief look at the survey questions reveal this as a classic “push poll,” in which questions are posed in order to “push” interviewees toward certain answers – not to gather information about what people genuinely think when presented with all the facts.

Continue reading »


MONDAY, APRIL 30, 2018

Context on Thiessen and Pompeo

The Spokesman-Review posted Marc Thiessen's defense of Mike Pompeo ("The Senate must confirm Pompeo," April 22, 2018), specifically a defense of his confirmation to secretary of state, in today's paper, but declined to add context about who its author is, and Thiessen neglected to discuss who Pompeo is. I'll happily supplement the editorial, because this context is important.

Continue reading »



Older white males are lost

As a member of the demographic "older white males," I find myself questioning the long-held conventional thinking on society and politics. It is apparent to me that my demographic has lost its way.

Continue reading »

SUNDAY, APRIL 29, 2018

CMR tax brag

Perhaps I am math challenged, but from what I can see, Cathy McMorris Rodgers' "tax reform" does nothing to help me and my wife.

Continue reading »




Blogs