Arrow-right Camera

Opinion


SUNDAY, JULY 16, 2017

Sun., July 16, 2017

Press favors trans agenda

The Spokesman-Review's July 2 lead article (with portrait) featured a man who longs for womanhood. Throughout the article, female pronouns identified this Eastern Washingtonian as it described support for the surgery to modify his male reproductive organs to simulate female reproductive organs.

Continue reading »


SATURDAY, JULY 15, 2017

Sat., July 15, 2017

2 shootings, different outcomes

Two articles in the June 29 S-R about how police handled two agitated men, with two starkly different outcomes. One man, on top of the climbing rocks at Minnehaha Park, was subdued with a bean bag round from a shot gun and lived. The other man, in Seattle, lunged first at a civilian, then at police with a sharp object (later identified as a pen) and was shot three times and killed.

Continue reading »





Sat., July 15, 2017

Froma Harrop: U.S. addicted to abusive drug pricing

Consider what got Martin Shkreli in trouble with the law. Shrkeli is the infamous “pharma bro” who bought patents to lifesaving drugs then hiked their prices to obscene levels. In one egregious example, he raised the price of a 62-year-old drug crucial to AIDS patients by over 5,000 percent. But this money-or-your-life extortion racket isn’t the root of the case against him. It’s whether he lied to investors.

Continue reading »



Sat., July 15, 2017

Larry Haskell: Drug court column left out key points

Shawn Vestal’s June 30 column, “Spokane Prosecutor Larry Haskell’s ‘get tough’ policies hinder successful drug court,” attempted to create an impression that the current reduced number of participants in drug court is solely due to my policies. This is not the case, and the Washington State University report from which he quotes bears this out. The headline and article are extremely misleading and fail to address other critical concerns addressed in the report that are detailed below. While campaigning in 2014, I promised the public that I would aggressively prosecute both violent and chronic property offenders, who have been out in our neighborhoods victimizing our citizens and businesses, sometimes almost immediately upon their release from jail or prison. I promised that where statutorily eligible and suitable, chronic offenders would be given treatment opportunities with the Department of Corrections; and we are doing that. My policies reflect legislative intent.

Continue reading »


Sat., July 15, 2017

Learn from the past

As a historian, I regularly encounter interpretations of the past that are perhaps prescient. This from Arnold Toynbee (A Study of History, 1936):

Continue reading »


Sat., July 15, 2017

Need health policy changes

The health care debate is about money. Where does it come from and who receives it? GOP may keep some Obama tax increases on the rich to save it. We all agree everyone should have access to health care, so how do we fund it?

Continue reading »


Sat., July 15, 2017

Our 'workers' aren't working

I have some employees I pay pretty well. In fact, more than I get. They have better health care and pensions than I will ever have. They don't do much work, and the work that they do I often disagree with. They are supposed to be providing liberty and justice for all, but somehow the liberty, justice and pursuit of happiness seems to fall more heavily on their side. Some of them are better at working than others, and I am not unhappy about paying them, though it still seems odd that their benefits are so much better than mine.

Continue reading »




Sat., July 15, 2017

Senate doesn't deliver

Hopes have been dashed for those who thought senators would propose a "kinder and gentler" alternative to the American Health Care Act (AHCA) passed by House. A small group of old white Republican men sequestered themselves without consulting anyone besides lobbyists to come up with the Better Care Reconciliation Act (BCRA), a carbon copy of the House version that had only a 17 percent approval rating and is opposed by most professional medical organizations.

Continue reading »




Blogs


Weekend Wild Card — 7.22-23

Izzit just me, or are we having incredible summer evenings of late. The weather at the Riverstone summer concert was terrific Thursday evening. And it made an encore performance Friday ...



It’s almost here

Yes, the Wear Your Pajamas to the Grocery Store Weekend is almost upon us. Remember the three key rituals of the annual observance, which some in Spokane regard as a ...