Arrow-right Camera

Opinion


WEDNESDAY, MARCH 15, 2017

WEDNESDAY, MARCH 15, 2017

Why the right targets Ryan

They don’t view themselves as people with specific practical goals who are willing to negotiate and perhaps compromise to reach those goals. Instead, they’re heroic revolutionaries, rousing the rabble and terrifying the establishment.

Continue reading »

TUESDAY, MARCH 14, 2017

TUESDAY, MARCH 14, 2017

Can CMR take a stand?

Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers has voted to kill the Affordable Care Act numerous times, with no replacement plan, despite the fact that most Americans favor keeping it and many of her constituents rely on it.

Continue reading »




TUESDAY, MARCH 14, 2017

Move columnists to Opinion

My husband and I are appreciative of the choice and balance of pieces that you select for the opinion pages, including the letters to the editor. We would, however, like to see the oped section expanded a tad.

Continue reading »



TUESDAY, MARCH 14, 2017

Trump getting results

I read where Sen. Patty Murray said President Trump's speech was full of empty promises. I disagree heartily, as President Trump has talked with several companies into staying in this country which means more jobs.

Continue reading »


TUESDAY, MARCH 14, 2017

Valley council disappointing

I recently attended my first city council meeting ever in the Valley, as a united neighborhood concerned about the Meadows at Plant's Ferry subdivision, between Keller and Mayhew roads. One by one, we gave a statement of concern to the council, only to be acknowledged by a distant non-interest, and no real answers about where to go forward to resolve our concerns.

Continue reading »

MONDAY, MARCH 13, 2017

MONDAY, MARCH 13, 2017

Appreciated column on vets

A couple of weeks ago, The Spokesman-Review printed a fascinating article by Rachel Toor, professor of creative writing at Eastern Washington University, called "Teaching Vets; Learning Even More." The timing was interesting as our grandson, who did two tours in the Marines in Afghanistan, was recently named in the paper being on the Honor Roll at another college. He didn't even know it until his grandfather called him. He was thrilled and is eager to graduate soon, the first one on his father's side to graduate from college. It hasn't been easy.

Continue reading »


MONDAY, MARCH 13, 2017

Common sense uncommon

Mistakenly, I always believed that those raised on farms and ranches had an extra dose of common sense. Being raised on a farm by my World War II hero father and a loving mother (they began farming after the war in the Columbia Basin, successfully transforming rock-scrabble soil into productive farm land), it grounded me with that extra dose of common sense.

Continue reading »


MONDAY, MARCH 13, 2017

Don't dismiss constituents

"We have to stop dismissing other people because they don't agree with us," Sue Lani Madsen quotes NAACP chapter president Phillip Tyler as saying during a recent gathering (March 4 column). These are good words. Let's all try to live by them.

Continue reading »


MONDAY, MARCH 13, 2017

Fight for disability services

Over many decades, Congress has created and funded effective federal programs that are critical to ensuring that people with intellectual and developmental disabilities (I/DD) can live and participate fully in their community: Medicaid, the Affordable Care Act (ACA), Supplemental Security Income (SSI), Social Security, Medicare and civil rights protections that help make community living possible.

Continue reading »


MONDAY, MARCH 13, 2017

Focus on similar goals

If people really expect to meet face-to-face with elected officials in town halls and similar venues, disagreements, frustrations and ideas for change need to be expressed in a constructive, non-combative manner.

Continue reading »


MONDAY, MARCH 13, 2017

Give me back my vote

Can I get my vote back? Less than a year ago, Ozzie Knezovich looked me right in the face at a Haircut Sunday meeting and told me that white supremacists and Second Amendment fanatics were what kept him awake at night.

Continue reading »


MONDAY, MARCH 13, 2017

Give politics a rest

Imagine, if you will, a world where politics isn't discussed on a per-minute basis. Imagine, too, that people – on average – lead happier lives because they aren't inundated with political coverage. The news is there to inform and emphasize, to the fullest extent, every story they publish.

Continue reading »




Blogs

About that emergency road money bill…

On Friday’s Idaho Reports, I had a moment of doubt, in which I said I wasn’t sure if the Senate has passed the JFAC-approved bill to allocate $52 million – ...



Final 4: Gonzaga 83, Xavier 59

SAN JOSE, Calif. – Mark Few and the Gonzaga Bulldogs left no doubt, beating Xavier 83-59 on Saturday to punch the program’s first-ever ticket to the Final Four. Whatever shooting ...