October 7, 2011 in Nation/World
AP/Lisa Poole photo

In this May 18, 2009 file photo, Liberian peace activist Leymah Gbowee is seen after she and other activists were awarded the John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award at the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum, in Boston. Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Liberian activist Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkul Karman of Yemen have won the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize, the Norwegian Nobel Committee announced today.


Please keep it civil. Don't post comments that are obscene, defamatory, threatening, off-topic, an infringement of copyright or an invasion of privacy. Read our forum standards and community guidelines.

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus