December 10, 1995 in Sports

CV Wrestlers Win Classic Title


Strength in the upper weights allowed host Central Valley to edge defending State AAA wrestling champion Moses Lake at the 16-team Inland Empire Classic on Saturday.

Shane Yackel (168 pounds) and Bob Perkes (275) won championships for CV, while John Jolley (190) finished second. CV compiled 174.5 points, to the 170 of Moses Lake, to win its first Classic in the 11-year history.

Tony Vehrs (108), Eli Zamora (129) and Casey Walters (190) won titles for the runner-up Chiefs. Peter Zamora (115) finished second.

Third-place University (140.5 points) had title from Gordan Bash (101) and Josh Knowles (122).

Mead, fourth with 128.5 points, received titles from Lyle Beerbohm (141) and James Clark (148).

Other champs were: Marcus May, Ellensburg, 115; Fletcher Barkdull, Ferris, 135; Nathan Pascoe, Lakeland, 158; Chris Duncan, Richland, 178; and Brett Dupree, Kent Meridian, 215.

, DataTimes

Thoughts and opinions on this story? Click here to comment >>

Get stories like this in a free daily email