Arrow-right Camera

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Thursday, February 21, 2019  Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Clear Day 27° Clear

Indy Speedway Lists Roger Penske, Others On Hall Of Fame Ballot

Six winners of the Indianapolis 500, the most successful owner in IndyCar history and the third member of the pioneer automaking Chevrolet family are among this year’s candidates for the Speedway’s Hall of Fame.

Those listed on at least 75 percent of the ballots returned by the Hall of Fame selection committee will be inducted at the annual Oldtimers-Hall of Fame Recognition Banquet on May 18.

Among the candidates from the modern era of racing - 1956 to the present - is car owner Roger Penske, whose team has won 91 IndyCar races and a record 10 Indy 500s, including seven in the past 11 years.

Penske’s first Indy 500 winning driver, the late Mark Donohue, is among the six former winners nominated to the Hall of Fame.

The only other former winner from the modern era among this year’s candidates is Gordon Johncock, who raced at Indianapolis 24 years, won in 1973 and 1982 and finished among the top 10 nine other times.

Among the candidates from the early era of racing - before 1956 - are former Indy winners Rene Thomas (1914), Louis Schneider (1931), Lee Wallard (1951) and Pat Flaherty (1956).

Also among that group of candidates is Arthur Chevrolet, the middle brother between Hall of Famers Louis and Gaston Chevrolet.

Others nominated from the early era include Frank Wheeler, Chet Miller and Leon Duray.

The candidates from the modern era are Jack Brabham, Tom Carnegie, Eddie Sachs and Roger McCluskey.

Subscribe to The Spokesman-Review’s sports newsletter

Get the day’s top sports headlines and breaking news delivered to your inbox by subscribing here.

There was a problem subscribing you to the newsletter. Double check your email and try again, or email

You have been successfully subscribed!