Arrow-right Camera


Area Students Named To Ewu’s Spring Dean’s List

The following students were named to the Dean’s List at Eastern Washington University for spring quarter:

Bonners Ferry: Merrill Taggart.

Coeur d’Alene: Daniel Cravens and Juanita Deryan.

Lewiston: Anita Kuhn and Jerry Line.

Nezperce: Jodi Walker.

Plummer: Chief Allan.

Post Falls: Barb Anderson and Heather Nelson.

Potlatch: Dean Walker.

Rathdrum: Lene Anderson.

Sandpoint: Jason Clizer, Holly Gindt and Jason Schwintek.

Wallace: William Lockhart.

In Montana:

Kalispell: Kenneth Dey, Ruthann Miller and Diana Steele.

Missoula: Michelle Bartlett, Jeffrey Groth and Teresa Yeager.

Samuel Sawatzky, Moscow, recently left for Chad, Africa, on a two-year assignment with Peace Corps. He is the son of Dorothy Dunne, Priest River, Idaho, and Phillip Sawatzky, Newton, Kan.

Diana Meyer has become a fellow of the Institute for Court Management’s Court Executive Development Program. She is a court services director for District Court, 1st Judicial District, in Coeur d’Alene.

Several Inland Northwest students and graduates won scholarships and awards at the end of the school year.

Mahmood Sheikh, Moscow, Idaho, $1,000, and Tawnya Cazier, Hayden, Idaho, $2,500, Discover Card Tribute Awards.

Birche Fishback, Coeur d’Alene, Xerox Award in Humanities/Social Sciences.

Phyllis Klein, Sagle, Idaho, American Association of Women Accountants, Chapter 57.

Templin’s Resort Hotel and Conference Center, Inc., in Post Falls, and Connie’s Motor Inn in Sandpoint, have received the Best Western Director’s Award for outstanding quality standards.

Carie Shugert has received Priest River Lamanna High School’s Teacher of the Year. She has taught math four years at the high school and has twice been selected to receive the annual North Idaho Teacher Achievement Recognition Award. She is a member of the district’s Crisis Assistance Team and has coached varsity fast-pitch softball, volleyball and junior high basketball.

, DataTimes