Seven Eu Nations Nullify Border Controls

In a move lauded as a breakthrough in the European Union’s drive for unity, border controls between seven EU nations are being abolished today.

Travelers will be able to keep their passports in their pockets when moving from any one of the seven - France, Germany, Spain, Portugal, Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands - to another.

Greece, Italy and Austria are expected to join them in June.

But the move comes five years after it was originally scheduled, and it’s on a much smaller scale: Several EU members are unready or unwilling to join borderless Europe.

Britain has vowed to stay out, and because of its customs links with Dublin, is expected to keep Ireland effectively out as well.

The three other EU members, Denmark, Sweden and Finland, are expected to abolish the controls, too.

Tags: briefly

Click here to comment on this story »



Contact the Spokesman

Main switchboard:
(509) 459-5000
Customer service:
(509) 747-4422
(509) 459-5400
(800) 789-0029
Back to Spokesman Mobile