Arrow-right Camera

Washington Voices

Statistics Tell The Tale Of Valley Gridiron Excellence

Sat., Nov. 11, 1995

Valley football players turned in their share of sparkling statistics during the season.

In addition to Central Valley running back Giorgio Usai’s Greater Spokane League leading 1,388 yards rushing and 7.2 yards per carry average (including last week’s win over East Valley he had 1,571 yards for the year), University’s Tim Buchanan finished fifth in rushing with 606 yards in league (and 760 overall).

Titan Casey Cornelius was the GSL’s third-leading passer with 1,242 yards on 78 of 143 passing, ahead of CV’s R.J. Del Mese’s 1,049 on 20 fewer completions.

CV’s Ryan Millar was second in receiving with U-Hi’s Joe Jeffries fourth with 31 catches for 513 yards and five touchdowns. Titan Kurt Moore finished ninth with 20 catches for 375 yards.

In his first year, CV placekicker Pete Martin had a league-high five field goals and was 36 of 40 in extra points, making his last 25 in a row.

“Peter was a soccer player who came to me last year and wanted to kick even though he knew Ian Hughes had the job,” said coach Rick Giampietri. “He spent time with Mike Hollis (the ex-CV and Idaho kicker who is now with Jacksonville in the National Football League). He’s just gotten better.”

East Valley’s Jesse Ewell was the Frontier League’s second-leading rusher with 690 yards and gained 1,106 for the year. He led the Frontier in scoring with 12 touchdowns and had 17 for the year.

West Valley’s Justin Tichy was third in rushing with 682 yards and had 775 for the season.

EV junior quarterback Brian Lamarche passed for 604 yards, third in league, and 897 overall. WV’s Riley Allen was fourth in league with 433 yards and 565 overall.

Frontier league pass reception leader was EV’s Kyle LeGrant with 384 yards on 15 catches. Overall he had 27 grabs for 557 yards and six TDs.

Place kicker Todd Hughes of the Knights kicked a season-high six field goals and finished with 43 points.

Valley racers win points titles

Valley drivers in the 1995 Autosports Northwest autocross series were among the season points winners.

Included was Joe Klokkevold, who turned men’s improved/modified fast time and who won both closed wheel and open wheel competition.

Others were Art Metz men’s stock/ production fast time and production C winner. Fast times for ladies were by Tammy Erickson in stock/ production and Barb McCarthy in improved/modified.

Valley winner of stock B was Don Daniels and of stock E, Jeff Roberts.

In production B was Paul Jaremko and improved B Dave Jaremko.

Other winners were Steve Cassell, stock C, Rich Gaffey, stock D, Peter Pistner, production D, Rich Gaffey, production E, Bill Silverthorn, improved A, Mark White, improved C, Dane Babkirk, improved D and Jeff Wendt, street modified.

, DataTimes

Click here to comment on this story »