Arrow-right Camera

Deary Buries Carey, 54-14

Prep football

Aaron Workman scored six touchdowns and threw for another as Deary trounced Carey 54-14 in the State A-4 eight-man title game at the University of Idaho’s Kibbie Dome in Moscow, Idaho.

Workman ran for four TDs and caught two others, finishing with 319 all-purpose yards for the Mustangs.

Deary finished its season at 11-0. The game marked the first time all year the Mustangs played a full four quarters. The rest of Deary’s games were stopped early because of the 45-point “mercy rule”.

With Deary leading 6-0, Carey quarterback Rich Payne connected with Jordan Hennefer for a 65-yard touchdown strike in the first quarter. The Panthers took their only lead of the game following a two-point conversion to make the score 8-6.

Payne later hit T.J. Dilworth on a 15-yard pass for Carey’s other TD. Carey defeated Deary last year for the state title and lost to Deary in 1993 at state.

Highland 30, Nampa 18

Troy Bell rushed for 285 yards and three TDs as the Rams defeated the Bulldogs for the A-1 Division I title at Boise State University’s Bronco Stadium in Boise.

Bell recorded 51 carries for the Rams, who finished their season at 12-0.

Nampa, which also finished second last year behind Pocatello, depended on Willie Alderson’s 15 carries for 222 yards. Alderson also scored three touchdowns for the 8-4 Bulldogs, including a 78-yard run on the first play.

Highland took the lead for good late in the first half on a 7-yard touchdown pass from Shane Griggs to Anthony Elgaaen.

Raft River 13, Mackay 6

The Trojans scored all their points in the first quarter and held off the Miners for the Class A-4 11-man football title at Holt Arena in Pocatello, Idaho.

Mackay (5-4) scored first on Nick Whitworth’s 8-yard run with 6:57 left in the opening quarter. Raft River (9-1) responded with a 65-yard scoring pass from Scott Warr to Jocko Hutchinson. Cody Laumb’s kick made it 7-6.

Jeff Rigby scored from one yard out with 25 seconds remaining in the period to complete the scoring.

Glenns Ferry 41, Lapwai 34

Ross Ferris scored three of his five touchdowns during the first quarter as Glenns Ferry (12-0) drove to its second straight A-3 football title at Holt Arena.

Ferris, who carried the ball 10 times for 126 yards, scored on runs of 41, 10, 51 and two 10-yard sprints.

Lapwai (11-1) was led by Rafe Hewett, who completed 34 out of 60 passes for 374 yards and also rushed for 42.

, DataTimes