Arrow-right Camera


Three Capture Titles

Scott Kalitta, John Force and Warren Johnson clinched Winston championships at the Chief Auto Parts Nationals at the Texas Motorplex in Ennis, Texas.

Only Kalitta managed to cap the championship with a victory in the $1,368,550 event. Force lost to Chuck Etchells in the Funny Car finals while Johnson exited in the semifinals but his son, Kurt, picked up the Pro Stock victory.

Mike Skinner outdueled Mike Bliss and Ernie Irvan to win the $157,105 Spears Manufacturing 200 SuperTruck series race at Mesa Marin Raceway in Bakersfield, Calif.

Harry Kourfas of Randolph, Mass., was killed when he lost control of his car at Thompson International Speedway in Thompson, Conn., and was struck by another car. He was taken to UMass Medical Center in Worcester, where he died.

Click here to comment on this story »