Arrow-right Camera


Rickard, Mcglocklin, Lafferty Head All-State

Wed., Dec. 18, 1996

FROM REPLAYS pg. C2 (Wednesday, December 19, 1996): Correction Brian Lindgren of DeSales was named B-11 football player of the year. The winner was misidentified in a headline and story in Wednesday’s editions.

Republic two-way standout Mark Rickard and the Greater Spokane League MVPs headline the Associated Press All-State football teams announced Tuesday.

Rickard, a senior at Republic, is the B-11 Player of the Year after making the All-State team at wide receiver, defensive back and punter.

The only other area players to be named on both offense and defense are Rickard’s teammate Chris Wilson, a junior lineman, and Justin Finley, a senior running back-linebacker for B-8 Cusick.

GSL MVPs Scott McGlocklin and Jeff Lafferty made the State AAA team.

McGlocklin, a senior from Mead who led all AAA running backs in rushing, is joined by teammate Joe Collier, who opened many of the holes McGlocklin used to rush for more than 1,800 yards.

Lafferty, a senior linebacker, helped turn Shadle Park into a playoff team after four consecutive losing seasons.

Ty Gregorak, a senior linebacker for West Valley, and Pullman senior wide receiver Forest Hurlbert, are the Frontier League representatives on the AA team. Gregorak was the league’s defensive MVP and Hurlbert the offensive back of the year.

Colfax junior Jacob Keck repeats on the State A defensive line. He is joined on offense by Lakeside senior offensive lineman Randy Brownell.

Other B-11 players are senior offensive lineman Scott Galbreath of Ritzville and Matt Schneider of Davenport; Dan Krause, a senior defensive lineman from Wilbur-Creston; and senior linebackers Danny Hargrave of Republic and Josh FitzPatrick of Davenport.

The other B-8 players are Odessa senior offensive lineman Josh Pitts, Cusick sophomore kicker Daniel Hill and Inchelium senior linebacker Jesse Schumacher.

Elijah Baker, a senior defensive back-running back from State AAA champion Curtis, is the Player of the Year for all classes. Other players of the year include sophomore running back Paul Arnold of O’Dea in AA; Jed Warenaar, quarterbackdefensive back-kicker for A champion Royal; sophomore quarterback Brian Lindgren of B-11 runner-up DeSales; and two-way senior lineman Beau Gosney of Touchet.

, DataTimes

Tags: prep

Click here to comment on this story »