Arrow-right Camera

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Sunday, March 24, 2019  Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Cloudy 48° Cloudy
News >  Spokane

Francoise Kuester Chosen Gu’s Teacher Of The Year

By Compiled Maisy Fernandez

Francoise Kuester, associate professor of modern languages at Gonzaga University, was presented the President’s Faculty Achievement Award as GU’s Teacher of The year. The honor includes a $2,500 cash award.

Others to receive awards during GU’s academic honors convocation were:

Susan Norwood, associate professor of nursing, received the Great Teachers Program Award for Outstanding Teaching. Robert Carriker, history professor, received the Great Teachers Program Award for Distinguished Scholarship.

Physics professor John Byrne, who retired this year after 37 years at Gonzaga, was honored with the title of professor of physics emeritus.

Patrick McCormick, assistant professor of religious studies, was named the Jerry Memorial Lecturer for fall 1996.

Gonzaga also recognized employees with 25 years of service: Sister Cecelia Wilms, research associate at St. Michael’s Institute; William J. Carsrud, math and computer science professor; Blaine Garvin, political science professor; Harry Hazel, communication arts professor; Dolores Marinaro, a program assistant at Gonzaga-inFlorence, Italy; the Rev. William Ryan, S.J., associate professor of philosophy; and the Rev. Bernard J. Tyrrell, S.J., religious studies professor.

Nathan Jeffries, Spokane, received the Daniel G. Brajcich Scholarship of $1,500 from the school of business at Gonzaga University. Jeffries will major in business.

Pete G. Kopplin has been accepted by the Washington Cultural Exchange to represent Washington on the USA Track and Field Team. He will compete in Canton, China, and Hong Kong in the long jump. He is a senior at Liberty High School.

Several Eastern Washington schools participated in the Middle School Mathematics Olympiad at Eastern Washington University. Inland Northwest teams earning ribbons for superior performance were:

Pullman: Jefferson Elementary School, fifth grade team, problem-solving event; and Sunnyside Elementary, fifth grade team, concept and procedure event.

Receiving special recognition for excellent performance, problem solving event were:

Chattaroy: Riverside Middle School, eighth-grade team B. Omak: Omak Middle School, seventh-grade team. Pullman: Franklin Elementary School, fifth-grade team; Lincoln Middle School, sixth-grade teams A and B. Spokane: North Pines Junior High, eighth-grade team.

Receiving special commendation for community service was Pullman’s Jefferson Elementary School.

Air Force Staff Sgt. Dawnna A. Alliss competed at the National Guard Biathlon Championships at Camp Ripley, Minn. She placed second in the women’s novice 7.5-kilometer race and 11th in the 15K race.

Alliss, an air surveillance technician at McChord Air Force Base, Wash., is a 1990 graduate of North Central High School. She is the daughter of Kay and Leroy Keele, Spokane.

Lewis and Clark High School was a second-place winner in the 1996 Toshiba/NSTA ExploraVision program in the 10-12 grade category. Team students were: Robert Dirks, Samuel Bishop, Jude Battista and Joshua Reidt.

Their project was “Our Winter Vacation to Nanoland: Applications of Engineering Principles To Nanotechnology Within a Historical Context.”

The team, selected from 48 regional winners, will fly to Washington, D.C., to accept their awards at the end of this month.

Their teacher is Larry Ellsom.

Sima Thorpe, coordinator of volunteer services at Gonzaga University, has been elected president of the Single Parent Outreach Connection.

Other newly elected directors and officers are: Jim O’Connor, attorney at law, vice president; Alice Tyler, assistant director of development, Sisters of the Holy Names-Washington Province, treasurer; and Mary Murphy, attorney at law, secretary.

Dale Madsen has been appointed as an independent “top-level” distributor for System 48-Plus in Spokane County. System 48-Plus is part of the Cromwell Organization of Delray Beach, Fla.

Night Magic, a Spokane barbershop quartet, won top honors in a regional contest in Missoula. The win qualified the group to compete in the Fall District Contest in Portland.

Night Magic members are Ron Reed, Mark Gross, Mike Hynes and Larry Hommel.

, DataTimes ILLUSTRATION: Photo

MEMO: To tell us about your achievements and good deeds, write to Achievements, The Spokesman-Review, P.O. Box 2160, Spokane, WA 99210, or 608 Northwest Blvd., Suite 200, Coeur d’Alene, ID 83814.

To tell us about your achievements and good deeds, write to Achievements, The Spokesman-Review, P.O. Box 2160, Spokane, WA 99210, or 608 Northwest Blvd., Suite 200, Coeur d’Alene, ID 83814.

Subscribe to the Morning Review newsletter

Get the day’s top headlines delivered to your inbox every morning by subscribing to our newsletter.

You have been successfully subscribed!
There was a problem subscribing you to the newsletter. Double check your email and try again, or email