Arrow-right Camera


Runner-Up Finish In Jbt Final Allows Thomas To Edge Long

SUNDAY, MAY 19, 1996

Corey Thomas, you might say, lost the battle but won the war on the Junior Bowlers Tour.

Thomas, who entered the TV-style rolloff finals of the season’s final JBT last weekend at Silver Lanes as the top qualifier, was knocked off 220-207 by second-seeded Jason Daniels for the championship.

But the runner-up finish was good enough to give Thomas first place by a point over Brian Long (94-93) in the season-long competition for the all-star team. Daniels (68) finished third ahead of Jeremy Allen (64) and Brian Aylsesworth (54). Thomas had high average for the boys, a 203. Beth Trudeau had high average for the girls, a 183.

Third in the Silver Lanes event was Ron Lutsey. Lee Burchfiel was fourth and Long fifth. High game was Kathy Lee’s 279. Daniels’ 270 was high for the boys.

The JBT ends with a fun tournament and awards night June 1 at Airway Bowl.


Two players from the Greater Spokane League and one from the Big Nine Conference are among six high school seniors to commit to play for the Community Colleges of Spokane women.

CCS coach Bruce Johnson said those joining the Sasquatch are:

Kelli Pilkington of Shadle Park, a 5-foot-10 wing and honorable mention GSL pick, who averaged 13 points and eight rebounds a game; Stephanie Shelton of University, a 5-4 guard; and Shelly Massingale of Kennewick, 6-0 forward, a two-time All-Big Nine first team pick, who averaged 16 points and six rebounds a game.

Also, Angie Dawson of Waterville, a 5-4 first-team allleague guard, who averaged 17 points and three assists a game; Christine Reagan of Cheney, 6-0 forward, a Frontier League honorable mention, who averaged 15 points and eight rebounds a game; and Sherri Dehn of Liberty, a 5-7 guard, first-team All-Bi-County, who averaged 14 points and five assists a game.

College scene

Senior outfielder Jim Horner leads three Washington State Cougars selected to the All-Pac-10 Northern Division baseball team.

Horner, one of three repeaters, was joined by Cougars left-handed pitcher Todd Belitz, a sophomore, and senior utilityman Jered Fowler.

Pac-10 North champion Washington landed six players on the team, including freshman shortstop Kevin Miller, the player of the year. The Huskies’ Ken Knutson was named coach of the year for the first time after producing his third title in the four years he’s been at UW.

Other Huskies honored: Cody Morrison, right-handed pitcher; Chris Magruder, outfielder; Christian Shewey, designated hitter (a repeater); Matt Smith, left-handed pitcher; and Ryan Soules, first baseman.

Whitworth landed two players on the Northwest Conference of Independent Colleges all-star baseball team, and had four make honorable mention.

First-teamers are senior first baseman Sean Peterson from Spokane (East Valley), who hit .397 with four home runs and 25 RBIs in 18 league games, and junior left-handed pitcher Jason McDougal, who had a 4-2 record and 1.18 earned-run average in league play.

Honorable mention went to Ryan Swan, junior, outfielder; Larry Turner, senior, shortstop; Eric Brown, freshman, designated hitter, and Chris Fukai, senior, second baseman.

CCS had the most first-team selections, with four, on the Northwest Athletic Association of Community Colleges Northern Division all-star softball team, and placed a fifth on the second team.

Division runner-up CCS landed pitchers Julie Fountain and Laura Schwartz, outfielder Jenn Risinger and infielder Dani Fine on the first team. Fountain and Fine are sophomores, Schwartz and Risinger freshmen.

Freshman outfielder Kelly Kinder was a second-team selection.

Walla Walla’s Robin Greene was coach of the year and the Warriors’ Nichole Alvarado the most valuable player.

Westmont College freshman Annaka Gustafson of Spokane (Mead) has qualified for the NAIA national track and field championships Thursday through Saturday in Marrietta, Ga., in the 1,500 meters.

Gustafson, who gained an All-American award at the Santa Barbara, Calif., school in cross country, qualified with a time of 4 minutes, 43.35 seconds.


Former Washington Redskins quarterback Joe Theismann, now an NFL television broadcaster, will headline the American Heart Association’s first All-Star Breakfast May 29 at the Spokane Convention/Ag Trade Center.

Tickets for the 7:30 a.m. event are $50 for reserved seating and $100 for VIP seating, which includes a reception with Theismann. Pictures with Theismann and autographs will be available at the VIP reception.

Info: Linda Kettleson, 838-4163.

, DataTimes

Click here to comment on this story »