Arrow-right Camera


Coin Toss To Decide Lakeland School Seat

A coin toss will determine whether William Reese or incumbent Don Soltman represents the Garwood/Twin Lakes/Prairie area on the Lakeland School District board of trustees.

Current board members will toss a coin today to break the 74-74 tie between the men in Tuesday’s election.

Joyce Nowacki beat incumbent George Riffle, Jr., for the other open seat.

Here are results of other Panhandle district board elections.

Boundary County

Incumbents Dan Robertson and Leonard Kucera held onto their seats. Robertson defeated Dale G. Albertson; Kucera beat both Michael T. Ashby and John Tice.

Bonner County

Ann Souza was named school trustee for zone 5. She was the only candidate to file for the post and will serve a three-year term.

Coeur d’Alene

Challenger Herb Cheeley defeated incumbent Jane Curtis.

Post Falls

Incumbent Donagene Turnbow beat challenger Dan Mouchette.

St. Maries

Incumbent Sharon Porter won against challenger Howard “Butch” Houck.


Kathy Sullivan-Orton defeated both Carol McCluskey and incumbent Web Cotter.

, DataTimes

Click here to comment on this story »