Arrow-right Camera


Incumbent Commissioners, Prosecutor Lose At Ballot Box

Thu., Nov. 7, 1996

Incumbents in Bonner and Boundary counties took a beating from voters Tuesday, with three commissioners being ousted along with Bonner Prosecutor Tevis Hull.

Hull, who was criticized for being soft on criminals, finished last in a three-way race. Former prosecutor Phil Robinson, a Republican, won the post with Democrat John Topp finishing second.

Bonner County Commissioner Steve Klatt was pushed out of office by Republican Bud Mueller. Mueller’s fellow Republican Larry Allen won the District 2 commissioners post.

The newly elected commissioners are both strong private property rights advocates.

In Boundary County, incumbent commissioners Bob Graham and Orrin Everhart were both defeated.

Murleen Skeen, the commissioners former executive secretary, slipped past Graham by about 73 votes, while Republican Kevin Lederhos downed Everhart by 273 votes.

Bonner County voters also narrowly passed a $964,000 school levy to repair roofs and approved new telephone fees to pay for a county-wide 911 system.

, DataTimes

Click here to comment on this story »