Arrow-right Camera

How The Top 25 Fared

How the Top 25 teams in the AP college football poll fared this week, plus next opponent:


1. Florida (10-0) did not play at Florida St.

2. Ohio State (10-1) lost to Michigan 13-9. Rose Bowl

3. Florida State (10-0) beat Maryland 48-10 vs. Florida

4. Arizona State (11-0) beat Arizona 56-14 Rose Bowl

5. Nebraska (9-1) did not play vs. Colorado, Fri.

6. Colorado (9-1) did not play. Nebraska, Fri.

7. Penn State (10-2) beat Mich. St. 32-29. Bowl game.

8. Brigham Young (12-1) beat Utah 37-17. WAC title game

9. Tennessee (8-2) beat Kentucky 56-10. at Vanderbilt

10. Notre Dame (8-2) beat Rutgers 62-0. at USC

11. Northwestern (9-2) did not play. Citrus Bowl

12. Washington (9-2) beat Wash. St. 31-24 Bowl game

13. North Carolina (9-2) beat Duke 27-10 Bowl game

14. Kansas St. (9-2) beat Iowa St. 35-20 Bowl game

15. Alabama (9-2) beat Auburn 24-23 SEC title game

16. Syracuse (8-2) beat Temple 36-15 vs. Miami

17. Virginia Tech (9-1) beat W. Virg. 31-14. vs. Virginia, Fri.

18. LSU (8-2) beat Tulane 35-17 at Arkansas, Fri.

19. Virginia (7-3) did not play. at Virginia Tech, Fri.

20. Wyoming (10-1) did not play. WAC title game

21. Michigan (8-3) beat Ohio St. 13-9. Bowl game

22. Clemson (7-4) lost to S. Carolina 34-31 Bowl game

23. West Virginia (8-3) lost to Va. Tech 31-14 Bowl game

24. Iowa (8-3) beat Minnesota 43-24 Bowl game

25. Miami (7-3) beat Boston Coll. 43-26. at Syracuse

Heisman watch

The favorite, Florida quarterback Danny Wuerrfel, did not play.

For the first time in major-college history, two players have rushed for more than 2,000 yards in the same season. Troy Davis, RB, Iowa State, gained 225 yards against Kansas State and won the national rushing title, with 2,188 yards to 2,084 for Byron Hanspard, RB, Texas Tech. Hanspard was held to 84 yards against Oklahoma.

Trophy trivia: With the exception of Davis, who gained 2,000 yards last year, every 2,000-yard rusher has won the Heisman. They are Marcus Allen, USC, 2,342 yards in 1981; Mike Rozier, Nebraska, 2,148 yards in 1983; and Barry Sanders, Oklahoma State, 2,628 yards in 1988.

Just how difficult is it for an offensive lineman to win the Heisman? Orlando Pace, OT, Ohio State, ranked fifth in the most recent Scripps-Howard poll of 10 voters.

Trophy trivia: Ohio State, Yale and Army are the only three schools to have back-to-back winners. Ohio State’s Archie Griffin pulled the trick by himself, winning in 1974 and 1975.


Ron Dayne, Wisconsin, ran for 289 yards and four touchdowns as the Badgers defeated Illinois 35-15.

Peyton Manning passed for 317 yards and three TDs in just over a half for Tennessee.

R. Jay Soward, USC, caught six passes for a school-record 260 yards and three TDs in a loss to UCLA.

Dan Gonzalez, East Carolina, threw for 351 yards and two TDs.

David Thompson, Oklahoma State, rushed for 321 yards and three TDs as the Cowboys defeated Baylor 37-17.

Joel Thomas, Idaho, rushed for 273 yards and four TDs, including a 90-yard scoring run against Boise State.

Billy Blanton passed for 395 yards and two touchdowns to lead San Diego State’s victory over Fresno State.

Jon Denton, UNLV, lost to San Jose State despite a four-touchdown, 387-yard passing day and breaking four NCAA freshman season passing records. Carl Dean passed for 372 yards for San Jose State.

Phil Stambaugh threw for 261 yards and Lehigh scored 17 unanswered points to beat Lafayette 23-19 in the 132nd meeting of college football’s most-often played rivalry.

Duke (0-11, 0-8) lost to North Carolina 27-10 and extended the nation’s longest losing streak to 13 games to become the first 0-11 team in ACC history and the only winless Division I-A team this season.

Since 1976, Ohio State teams ranked in the Top 10 are 1-8 against Michigan.


“It was our Rose Bowl. My Rose Bowl.” - Michigan backup QB Brian Griese, who led the Wolverines to a stunning 13-9 upset over No. 2 Ohio State.