Arrow-right Camera


Rebels Strike Last Ole Miss Edges Marshall In See-Saw Bowl

SATURDAY, DEC. 27, 1997

Deuce McAllister’s 1-yard touchdown run with 31 seconds remaining lifted Mississippi to a 34-31 victory over Marshall in the inaugural Motor City Bowl on Friday night.

Marshall’s last-ditch bid for a comeback ended when Randy Moss, who finished fourth in the Heisman Trophy voting, had the ball stripped away by linebacker Broc Kreitz after a 40-yard completion on the final play of the game. Moss finished with six receptions for 173 yards, including an 80-yard touchdown.

Stewart Patridge completed 29 of 47 passes for 332 yards and three touchdowns with one interception for Ole Miss (8-4). John Avery rushed 27 times for 132 yards and one TD for the Rebels.

Chad Pennington hit 23 of 45 for 337 yards and also had three TD tosses for Marshall (10-3).

The lead changed hands five times in the second half.

Ole Miss, behind the passing of Patridge, rallied for two third-quarter scores to take a 21-17 lead.

The Thundering Herd, with Pennington completing 4 of 9 passes for 59 yards, put together an 80-yard, 11-play drive to grab a 24-21 lead with 10:12 remaining. Doug Chapman took a short pass in the flat from Pennington and ran in untouched from 6 yards for the score.

With McAllister rushing four times for 32 yards, the Rebels went 59 yards in eight plays to take a 27-24 lead on Patridge’s 19-yard touchdown pass to Grant Heard with 5:39 remaining.

Marshall took a 31-27 lead as Doug Chapman, who rushed 19 times for 153 yards, scored on a 9-yard run with 2:57 remaining.

Click here to comment on this story »