September 12, 1997 in Nation/World

Salute To The Stars


Five artists, including actress Lauren Bacall, above, and singer-songwriter Bob Dylan, will receive the 20th annual honors from the John F. Kennedy Center for lifetime achievement. The others are actor Charlton Heston, soprano Jessye Norman and dancer Edward Villella. President Clinton will make the awards at the White House on Dec. 7, followed by a two-hour performance at the center to be recorded for a later CBS telecast. Bacall, 72, was nominated for an Oscar this year for her performance in “The Mirror Has Two Faces.”

Thoughts and opinions on this story? Click here to comment >>

Get stories like this in a free daily email