Arrow-right Camera


Kaiser Is Honored By Trade Council

Kaiser Aluminum Corp. was given the Exporter of the Year award by the Inland Northwest World Trade Council at its annual dinner last week.

The company expects to ship 27 percent of its output to 36 foreign locations this year. The share was 7 percent just five years ago.

The council, which has 200 members, also recognized Eastern Washington University Professor Morag Stewart as the International Educator of the Year, and Karen Marshall for her Outstanding Individual Contribution to International Trade.

A native of Scotland, Stewart worked in Canada and Switzerland before becoming a member of the EWU faculty in 1988. She directs the College of Business and Public Administration’s masters of business administration program, to which she added an international business track.

Marshall directed the Spokane Regional International Trade Alliance from its formation in January until her resignation to take a position with the City of Spokane’s Historic Preservation Office.

She had worked six years with the city’s International Development Department before it was closed for budget reasons.

Matt McCoy, the trade council’s past president and long-time executive board members, received the president’s award.

Other board members are Philip Sandifur, Summit Trade Services; Renne Ditton, Washington Trust Bank; Laura Mathisen, Mathisen Consulting Services; and James Hellwig, U.S. Department of Commerce.

, DataTimes


Top stories in Nation/World

In closing, defense calls Cosby accuser ‘pathological liar’

new  Bill Cosby’s lawyers urged a jury Tuesday to acquit the 80-year-old comedian of sexual assault charges they said were based on “flimsy, silly, ridiculous evidence,” arguing he was falsely accused by a “pathological liar” scheming for a big payday.