Two Fire Districts Agree To Cooperate

TUESDAY, FEB. 17, 1998

Two fire districts have signed a mutual aid agreement which they believe will improve fire protection and reduce insurance rates for many property owners around Lake Coeur d’Alene.

The East Side Fire District and Kootenai County Fire District No. 1 jointly announced an agreement Monday to run the Arrowpoint fire station cooperatively. The station, owned by District 1, will be staffed by East Side volunteers and equipped with an East Side fire engine.

The 4-year-old East Side district is based at Carlin Bay. It has two engines and one fireboat.

East Side fire officials have said the agreement will lower response times by bringing most fire district members within five miles of a station.

The district plans eventually to sign mutual aid agreements with other adjoining districts, such as St. Maries and Worley.

The Kootenai district already has agreements with the 11 other fire districts in Kootenai County.

, DataTimes

Click here to comment on this story »

Back to Spokesman Mobile