Arrow-right Camera


Plucking Honors

Thu., Feb. 26, 1998

Creedence Clearwater Revival’s legendary songwriter and leader John Fogerty has been awarded the 1998 Orville H. Gibson Lifetime Achievement Award. Lindsey Buckingham of Fleetwood Mac and Sheryl Crow were named best rock guitarists, male and female; Dave Matthews and Shawn Colvin were named best acoustic players. In the blues field, Luther Allison and Bonnie Raitt were awarded top honors, while in jazz, Mike Stern and Leni Stern were selected. Lee Roy Parnell and Anita Cochran were named best country guitarists, and Sebastian Steinberg of Soul Coughing and Me’Shell Ndgeocello won bassist accolades. The annual Gibson awards are given the day before the Grammy Awards.


Click here to comment on this story »