Arrow-right Camera


It’s All Tchaikovsky With Rivinius And Symphony

Fri., March 27, 1998

Gustav Rivinius, gold medalist in the 1990 Tchaikovsky International Competition in Moscow, will perform “Variations on a Rococo Theme” tonight with the Spokane Symphony. Fabio Mechetti will conduct an all Tchaikovsky program, which also includes “Marche Slav” and the “Manfred” Symphony.

The 31-year-old German cellist grew up in a family of six brothers, all musicians. In addition to the Tchaikovsky gold medal, Rivinius has won first prizes in cello competitions in France, Germany in Holland.

Rivinius last performed with the Spokane Symphony in 1992. The concert begins at 8 p.m. at the Opera House. It will be preceded by a lecture at 7 p.m. Tickets range from $28.50 to $13.50, available at the Symphony box office in the Seafirst Building, 624-1200, and all G&B; outlets, 325-SEAT or (800) 325-SEAT.

, DataTimes


Click here to comment on this story »