Arrow-right Camera


Bayo, Kiplagat Victorious

Mon., March 30, 1998

Zebedayo Bayo of Tanzania won the Los Angeles Marathon in 2 hours, 11 minutes, 21 seconds, while Lornah Kiplagat of Kenya repeated as women’s champion.

Bayo, 21, competing in only his third marathon, was running alongside Jonathan Ndambuki until the Kenyan pulled a right thigh muscle in the final yards. Ndambuki finished four seconds behind at 2:11:25, with countryman Simon Lopuyet third at 2:11:41.

Kiplagat’s time was 2:34:03, but it didn’t beat her personal best of 2:33:50 set in last year’s L.A. Marathon, when she was declared the winner after Russia’s Ilyina Nadezhda was disqualified for taking a short cut through a gasoline station. In both marathons, Kiplagat ran while ill.

Michael Paul of Rathdrum, Idaho, led a quintet of listed finishers from the Inland Northwest. Paul, who crossed the finish line 1,308th, was timed in 3:36.16. Others, with their time, were Neil Felgenhauer (3:38.49), Lindsey Robertson (3:42.42) and Dale Buckman (3:59.38) of Spokane and Julie Lui (5:27.47) of Cheney.


Click here to comment on this story »