Australian wins prestigious piano contest

JERUSALEM – Australian virtuoso Alexander Gavrylyuk took first place Wednesday night in the finals of the 11th annual Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition, named for one of the 20th century’s greatest pianists.

The maestro from Poland died in 1983 at the age of 95 but is still revered by music-lovers, especially for his interpretations of Chopin.

Trailing Ukrainian-born Gavrylyuk were Germany’s Igor Levit, followed by Korean Yeol Eum Son.

The Rubinstein competition, held once every three years, carries a first prize of $25,000 and a gold medal bearing a likeness of Rubinstein based on a Pablo Picasso sketch.

Click here to comment on this story »

Saving for the future

sponsored According to two 2015 surveys, 62 percent of Americans do not have enough savings to handle an unexpected emergency, much less any long-term plans.



Contact the Spokesman

Main switchboard:
(509) 459-5000
Customer service:
(800) 338-8801
(509) 459-5400
(800) 789-0029
Back to Spokesman Mobile