Arrow-right Camera


Sandpoint City Council seats switched

Across North Idaho, voters cast ballots Tuesday for a mix of seasoned incumbents and fresh challengers to serve as mayors, City Council members and commissioners.

Former Sandpoint Planning Commission Chairman Steve Lockwood and former city Clerk Helen Newton won places on the City Council, replacing incumbents Francis Ogilvie, who lost the election, and Alison Burgstahler, who did not seek re-election. Councilwoman Cindy Elliot retained her council seat. Lockwood, Newton and Elliot received support from 33 percent, 31 percent and 18 percent of voters, respectively, in the four-way race.

Two council seats were open in Rathdrum. Kenneth Hayes won 28 percent of the vote and will replace Councilman Dan Tesulov. Councilman Jesse Ojala was the second highest vote-getter with 22 percent.

In the Northern Lakes Fire District, an area that serves Hayden Lake and Rathdrum, three fire commission positions were up for grabs. Larry Clark won the seat for District 1, with 37 percent of the vote in a four-way race. Dennis Amende secured 61 percent of the vote for District 3, and will replace incumbent Dean McMillen. Terry Thomson got 60 percent and will represent District 5.

In Athol, Mark Dane won 61 percent of the vote and will replace Councilman Daniel Holmes, who got 57 percent. The other open seats – those of Councilman Robert Rickel and Councilwoman Shirley Hyke – were uncontested.

Hayden Council members Jeri Delange and Anson Gable won in uncontested races.

Hayden Lake’s entire council and the mayor were up for re-election but faced no challengers.