Shorthanded Shock triumphs

SUNDAY, AUG. 27, 2006

One year, one title.

The Spokane Shock won the arenafootball2 league’s ArenaCup 2006 championship Saturday night in San Juan, Puerto Rico, routing the Green Bay Blizzard 57-34.

Spokane, a league-best 17-2, becomes the first af2 expansion team to win the league title, and it did it with an ArenaCup-record 34-point second quarter.

The Shock earned the title without starters Jerome Stevens (wedding), Isaiah Trufant (injured last week) and Charles Frederick, who played sparingly because of a groin injury after catching a first-quarter touchdown pass.

“To battle the type of adversity we had going in, then to have Charles go out after the first possession, is impressive,” Shock coach Chris Siegfried said. “We had guys step up and take up the slack.”

Kevin Beard and Antwone Savage did so offensively, teaming for 22 receptions for 195 yards and five touchdowns. Quarterback Kyle Rowley completed 29 of 36 passes for 264 yards and six touchdowns.


Click here to comment on this story »