Arrow-right Camera


WSU piano teachers place second in international competition

Two Washington State University professors recently placed second at the Concours Grieg: International Competition for Pianists in Oslo, Norway. Jeff Savage is an assistant professor of music, and Karen Hsiao Savage is a piano instructor in the WSU School of Music and Theatre Arts. The annual competition drew 40 musicians from around the world.

“Two area residents recently received an Eagle Scout award, the highest award given in the Boy Scouts.

Andrew Smith, a member of Troop 12, is a student at Mead High School. For his project Smith painted or replaced metal doors at the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints Camp Zion on the Little Spokane River. He is the son of Graig and Martha Smith.

Nicholas McMicheal, currently attending Washington State University, is a graduate of Gonzaga Prep. For his project McMicheal rebuilt flower beds and installed a sprinkler system at St. Charles Roman Catholic Church.

“Melissa Mathis recently received a $1,000 Pharmacy Retail Scholarship for the 2006-2007 academic year at Washington State University. Mathis, a 2001 graduate of West Valley High School, is a graduate student studying pharmacy. She is the daughter of Mary and Bruce Mathis of Spokane.

“Brandie Tildi-Bryant recently graduated from the Army Reserve Officers’ Training Corps leaders training course at Fort Knox, Ky. Tildi-Bryant, a student at Washington State University, is the daughter of Chad Leaf and Vickie Bryant of Spokane. She is a 2005 graduate of Lewis and Clark High School.

“The following area residents were recently named to the summer honor roll at ITT Technical Institute.

3.8-4.0 grade-point average: Kendall Ayers, Jara Baker, Ricardo Barajas, Amanda Bernhart, Rodger Black, Jeff Bowland, Jason Brownfield, Duane Bunnell, Jerry Canterbury, West Card, Nicholas Carson, Justin Clark, Millisa Coe, Jason Coleman, Zack Conley, Matthew Davis, Don Dilworth, Kelly Domit, Brandie Doppenberg, Jennica Duncan, Paris Duplessis, Anthony Duran, David Eirls, Arjun Espiritu, David Fox, Chad Frew, Tom Gable, Jennifer Gilson, Matthew Greene, Melissa Grenfell, Tanya Gruell, Cheryl Gum, Sean Halberg, Bernard Hall, Cheryl Hanna, Seth Henkel, Jonathan Hill, Mark Hill, Kevin Jacobson, Joshua Johnson, Mediha Johnson-Tannan, Craig Kantner, Brian Kinsley, Stephanie Knecht, Kimberly Kobasa, David Konyu, John Kortus, Christopher Lacey, Robert Laycock, Leigh Lubbers, Jeremy Lyght, Bobby Maddy, Justin Manning, Troy Martz, Angela Matlock, Christina Matson, Doug May, William P. McCorkle, James McElwain, Richard McGinnis, Craig McManamon, Tamea Mendez, William Miller, Brian Miner, Jason Neiderhiser, Harold Neiser, David Nestor, Tom O’Leary, Brian Olson, Brandon Persson, Brandie Prey, Jeff Reynolds, Mark Ribeiro, Randal Ruiz, Bruce Sabin, Dixie Saccheri, Skye Samms, Eareckson Sanders, Cory Schmitt, Sunshine Self, Jesse Shelley, Edward Siemens, Travis Simonson, Bruce Stensgar, Joshua Suazo, Scott Thomas, Jenifer Ullrich, Erik Vanzandt, Christopher Waldron, Scott Waldron, Jeremy Walters, Robert Wartenbe, Elisabeth White.

3.5-3.79 g.p.a.: Christopher Bellus, Jordan Benham, Silvia Blanco, Jesse Bronson, Michael Brown, Victor Brown, Matthew Burkhardt, Philip Clem, Steve Cook, Nicholas Covert, Jason Dailey, Lynn Darrah, Matthew Davis, Johnathan Day, Tim Dmitriev, Glenda Gudiel, Marty Hafer, Jessie Holm, Scott Howard, Michael Jimenez, William Jorgensen, Matthew Klassen, Abraham Lagunas, Adam Lambert, Lawrence Larson, Ryan Lewis, Christina Lott, John Lyle, Clayton Maahs, Aaron McMillan, Jose Mendoza, Thomas Moore, Jason Morse, Genevieve Mossman, Dana Perkins, Kenneth Perkins, Brian Phillips, Joshua Ross, Kimberly Schreckendgust, Robert Shivley, Charles Somers III, Candace Taylor, Miranda Toulou, Justin VanCleave, Ryan Vanschoiack, Trey Watson, Kerrina Williams, Basil Winterbottom.


“Cadet Nathan Grunzweig recently graduated from cadet basic training at the U.S. Military Academy. Grunzweig, the son of Robert and Julie Grunzweig of Rathdrum, is a 2006 home school graduate.

Tara Lowe, a secretary at Moscow Parks and Recreation Department’s Hamilton Indoor Recreation Center, was recently honored with the 2006 Outstanding Individual Achievement Award by the Idaho Recreation and Parks Association. She was recognized for excellence in customer service in her two years with the center.

“The following North Idaho residents were recently named to the summer 2006 honor roll at Washington State University. Students are listed by their hometowns.

Coeur d’Alene: Brooke Bemis.

Genessee: Kay Glaser and Stephanie Pitts.

Moscow: Emily Berg, Janet McGough, Christina Spagnolo and Cynthia Williams.

Post Falls: Alexander Hamill, Kristin Phillips and Jillian Potts.

Princeton: Megan Comstock.

Rathdrum: Ryan Maple.

Sandpoint: Linsey Baker.

Tory: Charlene Burroughs.

Worley: Jennifer Parks.


Click here to comment on this story »