Arrow-right Camera
News >  Features

Three from Troop 22 earn Boy Scouts’ highest award

Three area residents recently were given Eagle Scout badges, the highest award given in the Boy Scouts. All are members of Troop 22.

Tyler Engstrom, a student a Shadle Park High School, is the son of Sheldon and Grace Engstrom of Spokane. For his project he organized a diaper drive to benefit the Vanessa Behan Crisis Nursery.

Drue Heinen, the son of Dennis and Donna Heinen of Spokane, is a student at Shadle Park High School. For his project he painted and did landscaping at the Merry Glen Home and School.

Joe Lindsey, a student at Mt. Spokane High School, is the son of Tom and Connie Lindsey of Colbert. For his project he constructed a concrete pad for the handicapped at Sontag Park in Nine Mile Falls.

“Three area students were named to the spring dean’s list at the University of Oregon. Students must hold a grade-point average of 3.75 or higher to be named to the list. The students are: Stephanie Bobiak, Spokane; and Heather Corley and Colin Maxwell, both of Coeur d’Alene.

“James Nevers recently graduated from the Army ROTC Leaders Training Course at Fort Knox, Ky. Nevers, a student at the New Mexico Military Institute, is the son of John and Suzanne Nevers of Spokane.

“Mike Gilmore recently graduated cum laude with a bachelor’s degree in political science from Seattle University. Gilmore, a 2002 graduate of Central Valley High School, is the son of Jerry and Marietta Gilmore of Veradale.

“Christopher Snyder recently graduated from the University of Montana with a bachelor’s degree. He was also named to the spring dean’s list, which requires students to earn a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher.

“Austin Washington of Spokane was named to the spring dean’s list at Gonzaga University. Students must hold a grade-point average of 3.5-3.69 to be named to the list.

“Air Force Airman Jayvan Eberle, recently graduated from basic training at Lackland Air Force Base, San Antonio. Eberle is 2001 graduate of Valley Christian School and is the son of Ray and Dona Eberle of Spokane Valley.

“Four area residents were recently awarded scholarships for the 2006-07 academic year at Washington State University.

Matthew Burgermyer was awarded a $2,000 Charles W. Harrison Engineering Scholarship. Burgermyer, a 2006 graduate of Shadle Park High School, is the son of Susan and William Burgermyer.

Sean Collison was awarded a $1,000 Dean’s Merit Scholarship. Collison, the son of Susan and Robert Collison of Veradale, is a 2003 graduate of University High School.

Tyler Dornquast was awarded a $500 Burgess Brothers Memorial Scholarship. Dornquast, a 2005 graduate of Riverside High School, is the son of Nanette and Will Dornquast of Deer Park.

William Floyd was awarded a $500 Harold Frank Engineering Scholarship. Floyd, the son of Diane and Kim Floyd of Spokane, is a 2006 graduate of Shadle Park High School.


Seven students from North Idaho College recently presented their research during the fifth annual Idaho Idea Network of Biomedical Research Excellence conference at NIC. More than 60 students from across the state made presentations.

The students include Stephanie Barley, Post Falls; Matt Bauer, Hayden; Luke Carter, Coeur d’Alene; Elizabeth Collins, Priest River; Veronica Hendricks, St. Maries; Machele Gonzalez, Post Falls; and Katherine Zebedeo, Hayden.

In addition, Bauer was one of 35 students selected for the INBRE Undergraduate Fellowship Program. The program conference was sponsored by the National Institutes of Health.