Arrow-right Camera

Arts & Entertainment

Chase Youth Awards recognizes area students


A number of Spokane Valley students earned Chase Youth Awards this week for outstanding traits such as citizenship, service and leadership.

With a goal of providing service both in their neighborhoods and for community agencies, the newly formed Chester Service Stars of Chester Elementary School got a Spirit of Jim Chase award.

Recognized for acts ranging from yard care for a neighbor with arthritis to donating birthday gifts to the less fortunate, the Chester group includes Jade Adair, Troy Allen, Wyatt Babb, Trevor Ball, Katie Ballard, Bradley Barclay, Tyler Bates, Cameron Blegen, Nicole Bridge, Darion Buck-King, Mitchell Burcham, Blake Call, Kaylee Call, Ethan Cantrell, Zach Cantrell, Tanner Christensen, Camryn Cicchetti, Drew Cicchetti, Jessica Clutter, Zakery Cornell, Isis Coty, Caden Davis, Megan Davis, Austin Dill, Matthew Diller, Olivia Dingus, Madison Dobson, Adam Drassen, Alicia Drew, Jordyn Eakins, Spencer Fall, Garrett Ferguson, Sabrina Gabel, Dorian Gillingham, Isabelle Girtz, Tyler Haase, Joshua Hager, Ryan Hammond, Mikey Hermann, Davis Hill, Rachel Horn, Ben Hutchens, Blythe Irwin, Brynn Irwin, Ethan Jones, Abigail Joppa, Dylan Jordan, Jasper Knutson, Regi lane, Remi Lane, Gage Lang, Jordan Lang, Brady Linerud, Ben Lobdell, Josh Lobdell, Noah Lobdell, Jason Long, Chandler Lymbery, Chloe Magers, Caitlyn Martin, Gabe Martin, Gretchen Maughan, Teague May, Andrew Miranne, Patrick Miranne, Adrienne Moe, Teylor Mulligan, Erin Nielsen, Cameron O’Brien, Sierra O’Brien, Kaiti Pannell, Madison Papich, Lauren Perry, Craig Robertson, Quincy Robertson, Kayla Rockom, Kendyll Rockom, Simon Rooney, Shelby Rotchford, Karley Sabo, Hunter Simpson, Micah Simpson, Corey Smith, Mercedee Smith, Taylor Smith, Christine Stephens, Brandon Stuehmeyer, Rachel Tolley, Adam Tveit, Christopher Tveit, Kellan Walls, Collin White, Talon White and Madison Yerges.

A group called Liberty Lake Elementary K-Kids sponsored by Liberty Lake Kiwanis members also got recognition for numerous community service projects. Members are: Madison Ambriz, Kasey Ames, Sydney Cline, Payten Fox, Allie Hecht, Charis Himebaugh, Julianne Hoberg, Echo Lenss, Anika Martin, Keaton Moore, Kathryn Munro, Colton Pegram, Lauryn Peterson, Amber Van Curler, Mandy Voge, Elly Waite, Rebecca MacKay, Reilly Bealer, Daniel Black, Brittney Carey, Tatiana Crumb, Brooklyn Cushman, Whitney Cushman, Katy Dolan, Haley Feider, Amber Gimlen, Christine Glynn, Briana Goss, Michael Guerdettee, Drayke Hilpert, Matt Hommel, Lucy Jones, Austyn Knudsen, Bryce Logerwell, Kelsey McCune, Jeff Moberg, Melissa Morgan, Cohl Orebaugh, Shelby Pace, Myra Purvis, Austin Smith, Josh Smith, Hunter Wardian, Maggie Watson, Bryan Wilson and Elizabeth Otis.

In the youth division, elementary student Bailey Martin Wills received an individual leadership award. Wills, a youth ambassador for the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, now attends Pioneer School. Nominated by his grandmother, Wills was credited for his leadership in promoting awareness about diabetes, helping raise funds for finding a cure and monitoring his own care as he lives with Type 1 diabetes.

A group excelling in diversity leadership included Greenacres Middle School students who are part of the “What is Different Makes Us Great” Team: Kelby Gummersall, Josie Warner, Clark Julian, Tyler Chamberlain, Jarod Maynes, Katie Mandler, Kendra Sherrill, Hannah Robb and Kayla Peterson.

Individually, a Greenacres Middle School student got kudos for courage: Amberlynn Weber. After dealing with cancer beginning at age six months, Weber survived but it left her with little use of her legs. She was nominated for being an inspiration to others at school because she excels as an honor student, orchestra member and athlete.

Also honored with a Spirit of Jim Chase award were students in East Valley Middle School’s “Road to Success” Program for numerous service projects. These students include Chris Allmand, Cahan Barlos, Braydan Berezay, Dawnyia Brewer, Jim Brewer, Vera Cherkashina, Jason Clark, Lauren Farman, Shawna Fenton, Shelby Gillespie, Austin Greene, Josh Gust, Stephen Hoff, Janelle Hudson, Carlee Johnson, Tom Johnson, Josh Jones, Tasha Kelly, Alisha Knutsen, Jeremy Maxwell, Scott McLaughlin, Brittney Musselman, Shayla Musselman, Colton Noel, Cameron Riedinger, Bryce Rigby, Levi Swartz, Alexis Smith, Chris Start, Franki Turner, Chelsea Warren and Justin Williams.

Winning at the high school-level Spirit of Jim Chase award was the University High School “Genocide Project” Team: Kayla Adolfson, David Almeida, Leslie Berkseth, Kyle Bielen, Brittany Blaska, Kevin Cassem, Kathryn Clark, Lara Curtis, Garrett Evenson, Marsetta Flumo, Madeline Fuchs, Tom Fuchs, Andrew Funke, David Germany, Stephanie Haskins, Tori Head, Dale Knudsen, Nathaniel Lollar, Melissa MacKelvie, Alyssa Mazzie, Dana McClendon, Kyle McNeilly, Brian Monson, Katee Norris, Stephanie Smith, Megan Stearns and Natasha Wise.

For group citizenship, the winner was the city of Spokane Valley Student Advisory Council with Victoria Berndt, Jie Jiao, Nick Piger, Jessica Cannon, Sharmaigne McMahon, Stephanie Smith, Brett Vlahovich, Sarah Manus, Justin Foltz and Alex Peterson.

An individual leadership award went to Ashley Johnson, a Central Valley High School student, who lends her talents as copy editor for The Vox newspaper, and as a church and community volunteer. Examples included her organizing a senior dinner for 75 at her church, serving as a youth camp leader and doing service projects as a Kiwanis Key Club member.

Central Valley Running Start students Megan Klegin and Yanek Kondryszyn were the spark behind a group leadership award as founders of the Liberty Lake Youth Commission. Wanting to inspire more youth community involvement, the pair researched youth commissions and in August 2006 presented a draft ordinance, sample agendas and applications before city council members to create the Liberty Lake Youth Commission. They also hand delivered applications to CVHS teachers. The youth commission drew more than 30 members, and both Klegin and Kondryszyn are executive board members.

In addition, a creativity award went to Justin Catlett, a U-Hi senior. Musically gifted from an early age, Catlett has mastered almost every instrument possible. By fifth grade he picked up a main choice, trombone, but he also has learned to play guitar, bass and other brass instruments. In 10th-grade, he discovered singing, lending his vocal talents to plays. He also performs in benefit concerts and has written 30 pieces of music.


Click here to comment on this story »