December 8, 2009 in Sports

Alfred 2nd team All-Pac-10 pick


College football: Washington State center Kenny Alfred (pictured) was named to the 2009 All-Pacific-10 Conference second team Monday and five other Cougars received honorable mention.

Stanford running back Toby Gerhart is the offensive player of the year, tackle Brian Price of UCLA the defensive player of the year and Chip Kelly of Oregon the coach of the year.

Oregon running back LaMichael James and Arizona State linebacker Vontaze Burfict are the offensive and defensive freshmen of the year.

For Washington, sophomore receiver Jermaine Kearse, senior linebacker Donald Butler and senior defensive lineman Daniel Te’o-Nesheim made the second team.

Honorable mention selections for WSU include punter Reid Forrest, safety Xavier Hicks Jr., wide receiver Jared Karstetter, defensive end Travis Long and running back Dwight Tardy.

Huskies receiving honorable mention are receiver Devin Aguilar, linebacker Mason Foster, guard Senio Kelemete, quarterback Jake Locker, running back Chris Polk, center Ryan Tolar and cornerback Desmond Trufant.

See entire list, B4

Chiefs host PG tonight at Arena

Hockey: The Spokane Chiefs put their four-game Western Hockey League winning streak on the line tonight at 7 p.m. at the Arena against Prince George, the only B.C. Division team to beat them this season.

Spokane opened the season at PG, winning 6-3 to establish a season-high for goals, and later losing 2-1 in overtime. Since then the Chiefs have won five straight against B.C. teams. The Cougars have just five wins in 29 games.

Coming off a 5-4 shootout win at Portland on Sunday, the Chiefs have won 12 of 15 games since Nov. 1 to close within four points of the Tri-City Americans and one of the Winterhawks in the U.S. Division standings.

Bowman takes league honor

Women’s basketball: For the third time in four weeks, the West Coast Conference has selected a Gonzaga Bulldog as its player of the week.

Heather Bowman, who averaged 19.7 points and 5.7 rebounds in three wins, shared the honor with Jontelle Smith of Saint Mary’s. It was the senior from Lewis and Clark’s ninth WCC weekly honor. Senior Vivian Frieson and junior Courtney Vandersloot were recognized earlier.

Thoughts and opinions on this story? Click here to comment >>

Get stories like this in a free daily email