December 17, 2009 in Sports

Gold medalists coming to Arena


Figure skating: All of the former U.S. Olympic gold medalists in figure skating will be in Spokane for the final performance of the U.S. Figure Skating Championships, U.S. Figure Skating said Wednesday in a news release. The gold medalists will participate in a presentation during the Smucker’s Skating Spectacular on Jan. 24, and later will take part in a fundraising dinner here.

The Olympic champions who are scheduled to appear are: Dick Button (1948, ’52), Tenley Albright (1956), Hayes Jenkins (1956), Carol Heiss Jenkins (1960), David Jenkins (1960), Peggy Fleming (1968), Dorothy Hamill (1976, shown above), Scott Hamilton (1984), Brian Boitano (1988), Kristi Yamaguchi (1992), Tara Lipinski (1998) and Sarah Hughes (2002).The U.S. Figure Skating Championships will begin Jan. 14 at the Spokane Arena.

Cowen makes Junior team

Hockey: Spokane Chiefs captain Jared Cowen is on Canada’s World Junior team, one of eight Western Hockey League players to make the squad.

Hockey Canada and the Canadian Hockey League released the roster on Wednesday for the team that will represent Canada in the 2010 IIHF World Junior Championship in Saskatchewan. The tournament runs from Dec. 26 through Jan. 5.

Cougars sign two JC linemen

College football: Washington State University signed offensive linemen Wade Jacobson and David Gonzales to letters of intent. Jacobson and Gonzales are expected to enroll in classes at WSU for spring semester, beginning Jan. 11.

Jacobson (Hollister, Calif.) spent the past two seasons at Gavilan College in Gilroy, Calif. This past season Jacobson collected All-Coast Conference and All-Region honors. Gonzales (Fresno, Calif.) spent the last two years at Fresno City College and was an All-Valley Conference selection.

Sherritt an AP All-American

College football: Eastern Washington’s J.C. Sherritt made the Associated Press All-America Football Championship Series team. The junior from Pullman is also on the Football Coaches Association and Walter Camp Football Foundation All-America teams.

Eastern sophomore running back Taiwan Jones and senior quarterback Matt Nichols made the AP’s third team.

Other Big Sky players on the AP first team include Montana State’s Jeff Hansen (OL) and Dane Flatcher (DL), Weber State’s Josh Morris (DB) and Kyle Mutcher (OL) and Montana’s Marc Mariani (WR).

Thoughts and opinions on this story? Click here to comment >>

Get stories like this in a free daily email