Arrow-right Camera


Indians honor Klante, Price

Barbara Klante and Jim Price, a pair of longtime contributors to the Spokane Indians minor league baseball franchise, were installed as annual members in the Indians’ Rim of Honor prior to Saturday night’s season opener against the Yakima Bears at Avista Stadium.

Klante spent 27 years working in the Indians’ front office and was a part of seven championship seasons.

Price served with the franchise in many different capacities, including those of radio play-by-play broadcaster, publicist, public address announcer and official scorer, and is recognized as Spokane’s top baseball historian. He recently retired from The Spokesman-Review newspaper, where he worked as a reporter and copy editor for the sports department.

Tommy Lasorda, Maury Wills, Dwight Aden and Levi McCormick were permanently installed into the Indians’ Rim of Honor in 2007 and have their names displayed above the seating areas down the right- and left-field foul lines.

In addition to those four permanent members, the Indians annually honor two other non-playing contributors who have their names displayed in the Rim of Honor throughout the season.

Steve Bergum