Arrow-right Camera
News >  Spokane

Federal disaster declared for 33 counties

OLYMPIA – Spokane County is among 33 Washington counties that have been declared a federal disaster area due to severe winter weather.

The declaration issued Monday by President Barack Obama was in response to public facility damage and emergency response costs from the storm that affected the area from Dec. 12 through Jan. 5.

“This is the largest federal snow disaster declaration in the state’s history,” said Gov. Chris Gregoire. “Local and state agencies have struggled to meet the costs to respond to the record-setting snowfall that occurred across Washington last December. The President’s decision can provide some vitally needed aid for these agencies.”

The declaration authorizes Federal Emergency Management Agency grants that can defray 75 percent of the eligible damages to state and local agencies, Indian tribal governments and some private nonprofit organizations.

The other counties covered are: Adams, Asotin, Benton, Chelan, Franklin, Kittitas, Pierce, Whitman, Yakima, Clallam, Clark, Columbia, Cowlitz, Garfield, Grays Harbor, Island, Jefferson, King, Klickitat, Lewis, Lincoln, Mason, Pacific, Pend Oreille, Skagit, Skamania, Snohomish, Stevens, Thurston, Wahkiakum, Walla Walla and Whatcom.


Top stories in Spokane

Then and Now: Comstock Park

James M. Comstock, born in 1838 in Wisconsin, arrived in Spokane in time to witness the great fire of 1889 and start Spokane Dry Goods with Robert Paterson. It became the Crescent, Spokane’s premier department store for a century. He also worked in real estate and owned other businesses. He served a term as Spokane mayor, starting in 1899. James Comstock died in 1918.