Arrow-right Camera

Tokarski Chiefs’ top player

Dustin Tokarski added another award to his lengthy resume on Monday night.

Tokarski was named player of the year when the Spokane Chiefs handed out their 2008-09 team awards in a pre-game ceremony at the Arena.

Tokarski leads the Western Hockey League with a 1.99 goals-against average and .936 save percentage and is tied for the league lead with seven shutouts. The 19-year-old Tampa Bay Lightning prospect, who inked an entry-level contract in January, has won 34 games in 54 starts this season for Spokane.

A total of eight awards were handed out Monday, including two to veteran Jared Spurgeon.

The 19-year-old Edmonton, Alberta, native was named John “Hitman” Hern Defenseman of the Year for the second straight season and also received the coveted players’ player award – which is voted on by the players.

Liberty Lake native Tyler Johnson and rookie Steve Kuhn were also double award winners.

Johnson, a second-year forward, was named the Ken Rabel Most Sportsmanlike Player and earned humanitarian of the year honors, while Kuhn was named rookie of the year and scholastic player of the year.

Jessica Brown