Arrow-right Camera


Texas awarded No. 1 seed

Tue., May 26, 2009

The University of Texas was selected Monday as the top seed for the 64-team NCAA Division I baseball tournament.

The Longhorns (41-13-1), who won the Big 12 tournament for the fourth time, will host one of 16 four-team, double-elimination regionals that begin Friday. It’s the second time Texas, coached by Division I career victories leader Augie Garrido, has been the No. 1 overall seed.

The other national seeds, in order, are: Cal State Fullerton (42-14), LSU (46-16), North Carolina (42-16), Arizona State (44-12), UC Irvine (43-13), Oklahoma (41-18) and Florida (39-20).

The 16 regional winners move on to the best-of-3 Super Regionals beginning June 5. Those eight winners advance to the College World Series, which begins June 13 in Omaha, Neb.

Defending national champion Fresno State, the first team to win it all as a No. 4 seed in a bracket, will play UC Irvine in the first round of the Irvine, Calif., regional. UC Irvine is ranked No. 1 in most national polls, but is in arguably the tournament’s toughest bracket. It includes ACC champion Virginia and Tony Gwynn’s San Diego State squad, with ace right-hander Stephen Strasburg, the likely No. 1 overall draft pick.

The Big 12 – Baylor, Kansas, Kansas State, Missouri, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Texas and Texas A&M – and Southeastern Conference – Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, LSU, Mississippi, South Carolina and Vanderbilt – each have eight berths.

Miami, one of seven ACC teams, extended its NCAA record with a 37th consecutive appearance. Florida State is in for a 32nd straight year.

Click here to comment on this story »