Arrow-right Camera

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Wednesday, March 20, 2019  Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Clear Day 56° Clear
News >  Washington Voices

Rogers honors inductees

Three area residents and Rogers High School alumni were recently inducted into the Rogers Walk of Fame.

The following are biographies of the 2009 inductees, Wayne D. Anderson, Wayne G. Fleming and Larry F. Nielsen.

Wayne D. Anderson graduated in 1949. He received his bachelors degree and masters degree in education from the University of Idaho. Anderson’s community involvement and recognition include the University of Idaho Athletic Hall of Fame, the Idaho Athletic Hall of Fame, the UI Vandal Legends 2000, the American Legion and the Elks Brotherhood. His professional awards include Big Sky Conference Coach of the Year Award in basketball and baseball. He spent 30 years at UI as a coach and administrator, and also was a high school teacher and coach. At UI his positions included assistant athletic director, head coach in basketball and baseball, and assistant coach in basketball and football. Anderson received an ROTC scholarship and received his commission upon graduating from college. He was a first lieutenant in the Army at Fort Ord, Calif.

Wayne G. Fleming graduated in 1956. He received a degree in education at Eastern Washington University and received a commission as a 2nd lieutenant through the ROTC. Fleming taught at Odessa for three months before entering the Army in 1962. He fought in Vietnam and had more than 1,000 hours of combat flight time. He crashed in enemy territory and was rescued by U.S. soldiers. Fleming finished his career as a lieutenant colonel. He received various medals from his time in the Army and was selected as a flight instructor by the Army and Northwest Airlines. His community involvement includes volunteering for the Bellevue Little League for 20 years including five years as president, and volunteering for the Peoria Diamond Club, which helps raise money for West Valley of Phoenix youth organizations. He continues his work with Valley Little League as a coach, is a referee for Upward flag football, and is on the board of directors of the Rogers Alumni and Friends Foundation.

Larry F. Nielsen graduated in 1955. He was a student at Spokane Community College and spent eight years in the Navy Reserves training on various ships. His community involvement and recognition include coaching Little League Baseball, Junior National Football, and men’s slow-pitch softball. He has been involved with the Children’s Miracle Network for Spokane; volunteered for Shop for a Cure and M.S. fundraiser; he has been involved in several reunions for the class of 1955; and he volunteers at the Big Horn Sportsman Show. Nielsen and his wife Donna were chosen as Good Neighbors for the North Side of Spokane in 2007.

Ferris craft fair largest ever

Ferris High School will host an Arts and Crafts Fair on Saturday from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., in both Ferris gyms.

The event is the largest craft show the school has ever had with more than 90 vendors. There will be prizes awarded hourly.

Proceeds from the show will benefit the 2010 Senior All-Nighter.

For more information, call (509) 951-4755.

NW Christian announces AP Scholar award recipients

Northwest Christian School students were recently recognized for academic excellence when they were named to the AP Scholars list.

The 2009 valedictorian Janessa Faust was named AP Scholar with distinction. She received the honor by scoring an average of least 3.5 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of the exams.

Students named as AP Scholars with honor were recognized for their achievement for receiving an average of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of the exams. Moriah Ellig, Stacey Eyman, Emily MacDonald, Bethany Wilson, all 2009 valedictorians; Heather Russell, a NWC graduate and Matthew Comi, a senior received this award.

The AP Scholars include senior Soye Mun, along with graduates Amanda Rood, Caleb Clark, and Spencer Vaughn. The AP Scholar honor is granted to students who receive scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams.

Subscribe to the Morning Review newsletter

Get the day’s top headlines delivered to your inbox every morning by subscribing to our newsletter.

You have been successfully subscribed!
There was a problem subscribing you to the newsletter. Double check your email and try again, or email