September 21, 2009 in Sports


From Staff And Wire Reports

Hurting Notre Dame will likely be without wide receiver Michael Floyd for the rest of the regular season and quarterback Jimmy Clausen might not be 100 percent when the Fighting Irish play at Purdue on Saturday. Floyd underwent surgery Sunday for a broken left collar bone. Coach Charlie Weis said he hasn’t been told how long Floyd will be out, but he expects to be without him the rest of the way. Floyd might be available for a bowl game “if we chose to go in that direction,” Weis said. The 6-foot-3, 220-pound sophomore went into the Michigan State game second in the nation in receiving yards at 160 yards a game. He was injured in the 33-30 victory falling to the ground trying to make a touchdown catch. Weis said it appeared Clausen has something between a turf toe and an arch injury on his right foot. Clausen will undergo an MRI “so we know exactly what we have there,” Weis said.

Done South Florida senior quarterback Matt Grothe will miss the rest of the 2009 season with a torn anterior cruciate ligament in his left knee. The school made the announcement Sunday, one day after Grothe was hurt in the second quarter of a 59-0 victory over Charleston Southern. Grothe had started 41 consecutive games for the Bulls and is the Big East conference career leader in total offense with 10,875 yards. Redshirt freshman B.J. Daniels will replace Grothe. South Florida (3-0) plays at No. 18 Florida State on Saturday.

Honored Two-time Olympian Ryan Lochte is USA Swimming’s athlete of the year for winning five medals at the world championships. Lochte’s medal haul in Rome included four golds. Michael Phelps, a 14-time Olympic gold medalist, was honored with the performance of the year award for his dramatic win in the 100-meter butterfly at the world championships. Phelps’ coach, Bob Bowman, was chosen coach of the quadrennial; Eddie Reese was coach of the year; Bill Rose was developmental coach of the year; and Jimi Flowers, who died in July, was the disability coach of the year. Emily Brunemann was female open water swimmer of the year. Andrew Gemmel and Fran Crippen shared the men’s open water award. The awards, voted on by coaches, athletes and media, were presented Saturday night at USA Swimming’s annual convention in Chicago.

Thoughts and opinions on this story? Click here to comment >>

Get stories like this in a free daily email