April 29, 2010 in Washington Voices

Education notebook: National award won by Hutton student

By The Spokesman-Review

(Full-size photo)

Reagan Nelson, a sixth-grader at Hutton Elementary School, was recently chosen as the national winner in the Level 1 competition in the “Letters About Literature” contest, for her letter to her favorite author, Laura Ingalls Wilder, who wrote “Little House on the Prairie.” Nelson’s letter also won the Washington state competition in March.

As the national winner, Nelson will be awarded a Target gift card and will get to direct a $10,000 grant from Target to the library of her choice.

Shaw Middle School teachers receive state technology grant

The Washington state Superintendent’s Office announced Shaw Middle School teachers Steven English and Rhonda Clark are among 100 teachers in the state to receive a Teaching and Learning in the 21st Century grant.

Teachers awarded the grant for the 2010-’11 academic year will receive $7,600 to “merge effective instructional and assessment techniques with real-world technologies.” The grant will make it possible for educators to teach strategies that incorporate technology.

The grant is a two-part program. First, the hands-on training will develop strong proficiency with digital technology and, second, the study and practice of instructional strategies will integrate technology into standards-based curriculum, giving teachers the opportunity to learn how to shift classroom-based activities from teacher-led to student-centered.

The grant is funded federally through the Enhancing Education through Technology program.

EV student mentors will host panel on cyber bullying, sexting

Technology today has given students more than just the tools for social networking.

Student mentors from the East Valley School District will host a community discussion on Tuesday, from 6:30 to 8 p.m., at Trent Elementary School, 3303 N. Pines Road, in the auditorium.

Parents, teachers, students, and members of the community are invited to the meeting that will include a panel of students from Freeman, Spokane and West Valley school districts. The panel will discuss topics on cyber bullying and sexting, and will talk about how to use current technologies for safe social interaction and learning, along with using the most appropriate online practices.

The panel also will discuss strategies and provide resources that can help parents educate themselves and their children about online safety.

For more information call Brent Howard of Educational Service District 101 at (509) 323-2727 or Cari Roderick of East Valley School District at (509) 241-5066.

Deaconess Adult Volunteers names scholarship winners

The Deaconess Medical Center Adult Volunteers has announced scholarship winners from area high schools. Each will receive a $2,000 scholarship.

Selected students include Nhung Kim Tran, and Kelly “Shay” Singer, both of Rogers High School; Lydia Jones, of Havermale High School; William Vilwock III, of Ferris High School; and Jared Tucker, of Mead High School.

Havermale High School senior wins scholarship for essay

Corina Gow, a senior at Havermale High School, was recently awarded a $250 scholarship from the Greater Spokane Substance Abuse Council.

Gow was awarded the scholarship after writing an essay to the council, sharing her strength and resiliency despite very difficult situations in her life. She is the runner-up to East Valley High School senior Natalie Smith, who received the Harry Kennedy Memorial Scholarship for her essay.

Key Leader Conference applications available on Friday

Students interested in applying for the Kiwanis Clubs of Spokane County Key Leader Conference, to be held at the Chewelah Peaks Learning Center Oct. 15-17, may begin the application process on Saturday.

Cost for the Key Leader conference is $200. Scholarships are available.

High school students between the ages of 14-18 can apply. Submit your address, telephone number, age, gender, year in school, the school you attend, and a brief statement on why you would like to receive the scholarship and attend the leadership training by e-mail to Dean Crandell at d_crandell6@msn.com or Gary Jespersen at garyjespersen@yahoo.com.

Scholarships will be awarded at the conference. Each scholarship awarded is valued at $120.

For more information visit www.key-leader.org.

There is one comment on this story. Click here to view comment >>

Get stories like this in a free daily email