Arrow-right Camera

Idaho Voices

Awards recognize anti-meth art

Sun., Aug. 22, 2010

The Idaho Meth Project recently announced winners of the “Paint the State” competition, in which local teens had the opportunity to paint the powerful “Not Even Once” campaign through their own original artwork. The contest encouraged teens to use their creativity and passion in a new way for an important cause.

“Paint the State” is based on a program developed by the Montana Meth Project in 2006, when teens all over Montana created more than 660 works of art, making it one of the largest public art contests.

The 2010 Idaho teen winners include statewide grand prize winners Brock and Zack Bartlett, of Twin Falls, and First Lady’s Choice award winner Heather Callister, of Blackfoot.

Benewah County: first place, Luke Feasline, of Boy Scout Troop No. 442; second place, Mathew Stensgar, of the Rock n’ the Rez Youth Leaders; third place, Sequoia Gallegos, of the Coeur d’Alene Tribal Youth Council and the United National Indian Tribal Youth.

Boundary County: first place, Taylor Dinning; second place, Chase Dinning; third place, Isaiah Botkin.

Bonner County: first place, Sean Alhstrom, of the Lake Pend Oreille High School design class; second place, Kyler Healey; third place, Hannah Griesemer.

Kootenai County: first place, Jenna Guswiler, second place, Catherine Brands; and third place, Alex Evans.

Shoshone County: first place, Samantha Squires; second place, Jeffrey Campo, of Kellogg High School; third place, Mariah Schlepp.

The artwork can be found on the Idaho Meth Project website at www.idahometh

Click here to comment on this story »