Arrow-right Camera

Ducks, Cardinal each place 7 on Pac-10 first team

Heisman Trophy finalist Andrew Luck of Stanford was awarded Pac-10 offensive player of the year honors.

In other awards announced by the conference on Tuesday, Oregon State defensive tackle Steven Paea was named top defensive player and Oregon’s Chip Kelly was voted the coach of the year.

USC receiver Robert Woods has been picked as the top freshman offensive player and Arizona State defensive end Junior Onyeali is the top freshman defender.

Heisman Trophy finalist running back LaMichael James was one of seven players for No. 2 Oregon to be picked first-team all-conference. Fifth-ranked Stanford also had seven selections, including Chase Beeler, David DeCastro and Jonathan Martin from the offensive line.

For the University of Washington, linebacker Mason Foster seemed to be everywhere during the 2010 season.

Now he’s turned up someplace else.

The senior from Seaside, Calif., was the lone Huskies player to be named to the All-Pacific-10 Conference first team.

Teammates Chris Polk, Jermaine Kearse and Nate Williams were named to the second team, while quarterback Jake Locker, linebacker Victor Aiyewa and defensive tackle Alameda Ta’amu received honorable mention.

Foster led the Pac-10 and was second in the nation with 151 total tackles. He had double-digit tackles in all but the California game.

Polk, a sophomore from Redlands, Calif., finished second in the Pac-10 in rushing yards, with 1,238, and had 284 in Saturday’s Apple Cup win over Washington State.

Kearse has 62 receptions, the sixth-highest total in UW history, for 1,001 yards. Aiyewa led the conference in tackles for loss, averaging 1.5 per game.

As expected, Oregon and Stanford dominated the first team, with 14 combined players among the 28 named.

The Ducks’ seven first-teamers broke the school’s record of five set by the 1994 Rose Bowl team.

Joining James on the first-team offense were receiver Jeff Maehl, center Jordan Holmes and tight end David Paulson.

Oregon defenders on the first team were cornerback Talmadge Jackson III and linebacker Casey Matthews. Punt returner Cliff Harris made the list on special teams.