Arrow-right Camera


Furlough day Monday is state workers’ fifth

Thu., Dec. 23, 2010

Many state offices will be closed Monday as workers for most agencies and departments go on a one-day unpaid furlough, the fifth this year.

Thousands of state workers, from the Agriculture Department to the Workforce Training and Education Coordinating Board, are covered by a law passed last spring that is designed to save the state an estimated $70 million through next June with a total of 10 furlough days.

The furlough covers many workers not involved in public safety, child protection or revenue generation. State colleges and universities also remain open because they were ordered to find budget savings through other means.

The legislation lists five preferred furlough days for 2011: Jan. 28, Feb. 22, March 11, April 22 and June 10.

Most are Fridays or Mondays or designed to combine with holiday weekends.

Tags: furloughs

Click here to comment on this story »