Arrow-right Camera

Idaho Voices

LCHS students earn spots in state business competition

Students from Lake City High School are eligible for the state Business Professionals of America competition after placing in the regional competition held recently at North Idaho College. The state competition will be in March in Boise.

First-place team winners include: Alyssa Allen, Marie Burns and Taran Loper for computer animation; Lloyd Castleberry, Keifer Hofacker and Dylan Kritz for software engineering; Ryan Rhode and Corbin Staaben for Web application; Ryan Hamilton, Jared Dibble and Chelsea Sampson for Web design; and Ashley Raveena and Ronique Brooke for presentation management.

Individual qualifiers in first place include: Raveena Padda for advanced word processing; Ashley Chaffin for desktop publishing and graphic design promotion; Pat Hanlon for economic research; Corbin Staaben for Web design; Keifer Hofacker for computer security; Peter Lujan for VB.NET; Lucas Palmer for extemporaneous speech; Taylar McClure for human resources; and Lloyd Castleberry for information technology.

Individual qualifiers in second place include: Marie Burns for fundamental spreadsheets; Jordan Finney-McRoberts for keyboarding production; Nikki Webster for administrative support; Jake Davisson for VB.NET; Ryan Hamilton for Web design; Lloyd Castleberry for computer security; Olivia Bauer for graphic design promotion; and Brooke Simkins for human resources.

Individual qualifiers in third place include: Alyssa Allen for desktop publishing; Pat Hanlon for database applications; Brandon Hicks for VB.NET; Jared Dibble for Web design; and Peter Lujan for PC servicing.

Jordan Finney-McRoberts and Jessica Lawrence were both open event qualifiers in the financial math division.

Students’ imaginations earn awards

Elementary students in the Coeur d’Alene School District shared their creative ideas at the District’s Invention Convention in December at Dalton Elementary School.

Winton Elementary fifth-grader JC Holton won the Best of Show award for his Hoofeze, an invention for making it easy to trim horses’ hooves. Holton’s invention was judged best overall from among 99 exhibits on display.

Judges also presented awards in other categories, including:

For Adaptations, first-place ribbons were awarded to Jordan King and Cole Yankoff of Winton Elementary and Kim Corette of Hayden Meadows Elementary. Second-place ribbons were awarded to Riley Glover and Hunter Bell, both of Winton Elementary. And, third-placers were Maya Burgess and Nathan Ralston, both of Winton Elementary.

In the Games category, first-placers included Geneva Bengtson and Grave Shaffer, both of Hayden Meadows Elementary, and Brian Penney of Winton Elementary. The second-placers included Kirstena Bonealee of Hayden Meadows Elementary; Paiton Avery of Winton Elementary and JJ Wise, Josh Wise and Shayna Wabs, all of Hayden Meadows Elementary. In third place were Cedric Broussard of Dalton Elementary, Megan Hollingsworth of Winton Elementary, Jacob Howlett of Bryan Elementary and Kelsie Spellman of Winton Elementary.

In the Jules Verne category, first place went to Cheyenne Arellano of Borah Elementary and Sydney Morrison of Hayden Meadows Elementary. Second-placers included Emily Brown of Winton Elementary and Anna Heiner of Hayden Meadows Elementary. Third-place awards were given to Lauren Golden of Winton Elementary and Jazmyn Swartz of Ramsey Elementary.

In the Working Models category, first place included Nevaeh Balazs of Hayden Meadows Elementary, Clarissa Webb of Winton Elementary and Drake Prohaska of Meadows. Second place ribbons included Hunter Brett and Paysley Larsen of Winton Elementary. Third place was awarded to Jericho Simone of Dalton Elementary, Nikelle Christiansen of Winton Elementary, and Ethan Young and Macy Ogle, both of Hayden Meadows Elementary.

In the Nonworking Models category, first place went to JC Holton, Isabell McAfee and Sam Putren, all of Winton Elementary. Second place was given to the team of Natalie Buzolich and McKenzie Lukes of Dalton Elementary, Lily Bennett of Winton Elementary and Rayla Morrison of Hayden Meadows Elementary. Third place was awarded to Cheyenne Riviera of Hayden Meadows Elementary, Morgan Dixon of Dalton Elementary and Eli Putren of Winton Elementary.

The first, second and third place district winners advance to the Regional Invention Convention in February.