Arrow-right Camera


Allan reappointed as tribal chairman

The Coeur d’Alene Tribe elected new council members on Saturday.

In addition, the tribal council unanimously reappointed Chief Allan as chairman, a position he has held since 2005, a tribal news release said.

Charlotte Nilson earned a second three-year term on the seven-person council, and Alfred Nomee was elected to replace Dave Matheson, who did not seek re-election, the release said. Council seats are staggered three-year terms.

Nomee has worked for the tribe for 32 years, including 12 years as natural resources director. He also helped establish the tribal school in the 1970s. Nomee is a graduate of the Institute for American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, N.M.

Each year, the council votes to appoint officers. Ernie Stensgar was reappointed vice chairman, and Norma Jean Louie remains secretary/treasurer, the release said.

Click here to comment on this story »