Arrow-right Camera


Roundup: CCS women retain title; men second

Tue., May 25, 2010

Community Colleges of Spokane women defended their championship in the Northwest Athletic Association of Community Colleges golf tournament at Gold Mountain Golf Club in Bremerton on Monday.

The CCS men had the medalist, sophomore Tyler Johnson of Coeur d’Alene High, but finished second for a second straight year, losing the title by a stroke to Bellevue.

With sophomores Darby Moberg (Freeman) and Alyssa Osterback (Mt. Spokane) and freshman Alexa Bell matching 160s to earn top-five individual finishes, the CCS women edged Green River 480-482 for their sixth league title under coach Christie Dalsanders.

Dalsanders was rewarded with her sixth coach of the year honor.

Johnson was under par both days, shooting 71-70 for a 3-under 141, to claim the individual title, and CCS had six of the top eight scorers.

But Bellevue, which had trailed CCS by seven strokes after Sunday’s first round, surged to the team championship when its No. 6 player, K.C. Chang, who shot a 78 Sunday, broke the course record with a 64 on Monday.

Besides Johnson, three other Sasquatch made the all-tournament team – Sam Krause, Jason Molner and Kyler Gable (Coeur d’Alene), who matched 144s to tie for fourth. At 145 were Corey Meyers (Deer Park) and Taylor Porter (CdA).


Five was the significant number for the Community Colleges of Spokane. Good in one respect, not as good as it had hoped in another.

The Sasquatch dropped a 2-0 decision to Lower Columbia in the second round of the rain-plagued NWAACC Championships in Portland to wind up fifth in the 16-team tournament.

CCS had runners in scoring position in three innings but couldn’t get them home. Both LC runs were unearned against Shelby Bethel, who struck out six in pitching a five-hitter.

Mt. Hood defeated Southwest Oregon 7-4 for the championship. Lower Columbia finished third.

CCS fared better when the All-NWAACC team was announced. Bethel (University) and outfielder Stephanie Chrystal were first-team selections to lead five Sasquatch who were honored. Outfielder Kelsey Raines (Freeman) and pitchers-first basemen Jessica Solbrack and Amanda Edwards were on the second team.

Click here to comment on this story »