November 21, 2010 in Awayfinder destinations

Seniors can see savings on slopes

Most resorts offer reduced prices
Carl Gidlund Awayfinder Correspondent
 

If you’re a boarder or skier 60 years of age or older, many Northwest ski areas want to see you on their slopes.

Most offer seniors reduced rates, but the areas certainly don’t agree on what constitutes a senior or what many call a super senior. For some, the discounts begin at age 60; for others, it’s 70 or above.

Check out the list below for the major resorts, but before you head for the slopes and demand the rate specified, call the area of your choice or click on its Web site to ensure the price is as we’ve stated. There’s always a chance that rates have changed after our publication date.

Canadian rates are in Canadian dollars. To equate them to U.S. dollars, use a currency converter such as www.xe.com.

NORTH IDAHO SKI AREAS

Schweitzer Mountain Resort, www.schweitzer.com, 208-263-9555

Seniors (65+) Lift Ticket $55, Midweek Pass (Sunday – Friday) $699

Silver Mountain Ski Resort, www.silvermt.com, 208-783-1111

Seniors (62-69) Lift Ticket $40, Season Pass $399

Super Seniors (70+) Season Pass $99

Lookout Pass Recreation Area, www.skilookout.com, 208-744-1301

Seniors (62-69) Lift Ticket $23 midweek, $25 weekend/holiday

Season Pass $179

Super Senior (70-79) Season Pass $129, (80+) Free

Boomers’ Fridays for 40+, ski all day for $22

Lookout also offers two programs for seniors, a Prime Timers Club for those who wish to ski with peers, and a Mountain Masters Program to improve skills. Information on those programs is on the area’s Web site.

WASHINGTON SKI AREAS

Mount Washington Alpine Resort, www.mtspokane.com 509-238-2220

Super Seniors (70+) Lift Ticket $19, Season Pass $149

49 Degrees North, www.ski49n.com, 509-935-6649

Masters (70+) Lift Ticket $45 weekend, $42 weekday

Season Pass $450

Mount Baker Ski Area, www.mtbaker.us, 360-671-0211

Seniors (60-69) Lift Ticket $37.07, Season Pass $416.08

Super Seniors (70+) Lift Ticket $27.34, Super Seniors $128.88

Stevens Pass Ski Area, www.stevenspass.com, 206-812-4510

Seniors (62-69) Lift Ticket $40, Season Pass $469

Super Seniors (70+) Lift Ticket $15, Season Pass $89

The Summit at Snoqualmie, www.summitatsnowqualmie.com, 425-434-7669

Seniors (62-69) Lift Ticket $39, Big S Season Pass $369

Super Seniors (70+) Lift Ticket $12, Big S Season Pass $229

Crystal Mountain Ski Area, www.skicrystal.com, 360-663-3050

Seniors (70+) Lift Ticket $40 weekday, $48 weekend/holiday

Season Pass $499

Mission Ridge Ski & Snowboard Resort, www.missionridge.com, 509-663-6543

Seniors (62+) Lift Ticket $32, Season Pass $369.10

White Pass Ski Resort, www.skiwhitepass.com, 509-672-3101

Super Seniors (73+) Season Pass Free

MONTANA SKI AREAS

The Resort at Big Mountain, www.skiwhitefish.com, 406-862-2900

Seniors (65-69) Lift Ticket $52, Season Pass $900

Super Seniors (70+) Free

Montana Snowbowl, www.montanasnowbowl.com, 406-549-9777

Seniors (60+) Lift Ticket $37, Season Pass $362

Discovery Ski Area, www.skidiscovery.com, 406-563-2184

Seniors (65+) Lift Ticket $19, Season Pass $510

Lost Trail Powder Mountain, www.losttrail.com, 406-821-3211

Golden Agers (60-69) Lift Ticket $27, Season Pass $500

Seniors (70+) Lift Ticket $12, Season Pass $125

Bridger Bowl Ski Area, www.bridgerbowl.com, 406-587-2111

Seniors (70-79) Lift Ticket $21, Season Pass $250

Super Seniors (80+) Free

Big Sky Ski Resort, www.bigskyresort.com, 800-548-4486

Seniors (70+) Lift Ticket $71, Season Pass $1199

Red Lodge Mountain, www.redlodgemountain.com, 800-444-2610

Seniors (65-69) Lift Ticket $41, Season Pass $180

Super Seniors (70+) Lift Ticket $15

OREGON SKI AREAS

Timberline Ski Resort, www.timberlinelodge.com, 503-272-3158

Seniors (65-70) Lift Ticket $36

Mount Hood Meadows, www.skihood.com, 503-337-2222

Seniors (65+) Lift Ticket $39, Season Pass $349

Mount Hood Ski Bowl, www.skibowl.com, 503-272-3206 ext. 1107

Seniors (65-71) Lift Ticket $26, (72+) free

Season Pass (65-71) $279, (72+) $50

Mount Bachelor Ski Resort, www.mtbachelor.com, 800-829-2442

Seniors (65-69) Season Pass $539, (70+) $319

Anthony Lakes Ski Resort, www.anthonylakes.com, 541-856-3277

Seniors (70+) Lift Ticket $25, Season Pass $240

Mount Ashland Ski Area, www.mtashland.com, 541-482-2897

Seniors (70+) Lift Ticket free, Season Pass $50

BRITISH COLUMBIA SKI AREAS

Mount Washington Alpine Resort, www.mountwashington.ca, 888-231-1499

Seniors (65+) Lift Ticket $68.25, Season Pass $904

Sun Peaks Resort, www.sunpeaksresort.com, 250-578-7222

Seniors (65+) Lift Ticket $58, Season Pass $559

Whistler Blackcomb Resort, www.whistlerblackcomb.com

Seniors (65+) 2-day Lift Tickets $141

Super Seniors (75+) Season Pass $199

Adult (19-64) Season Pass $1699

Revelstoke Mountain Resort, www.revelstokemountainresort.com,

866-373-4754

Seniors (65+) Lift Ticket $57, Season Pass $749

Silver Star Mountain Resort, www.skisilverstar.com, 250-542-0224

Seniors (65+) Lift Ticket $59, Season Pass $645

Panorama Mountain Village, www.panoramaresort.com, 800-663-2929

Seniors (65-74) Season Pass $669

Super Seniors (75+) Season Pass $25

Big White Ski Resort, www.bigwhite.com, 800-663-2772

Seniors (65+) Lift Ticket $49, Season Pass $645

Red Mountain Resort, www.redresort.com, 250-362-7384

Seniors (65-74) Lift Ticket $42, Season Pass $630

Get stories like this in a free daily email


Please keep it civil. Don't post comments that are obscene, defamatory, threatening, off-topic, an infringement of copyright or an invasion of privacy. Read our forum standards and community guidelines.

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus