Arrow-right Camera
News >  Features >  Washington Voices

Education notes: Sacajawea teacher receives award

Jamie Smith, a science teacher at Sacajawea Middle School, recently received the 2010 Mona Bailey Teacher Leadership Award.

Smith was evaluated on her leadership skills and her dedication to her students. She is the first teacher to receive the award from eastern Washington. Smith was also awarded $1,000.

The Mona Bailey Award was established in 2004 to recognize teacher leadership in mathematics, engineering or science and honors Bailey’s lifetime of dedication to education in Washington state where she served in many capacities, including assistant state superintendent of public instruction.

NC principal wins award

North Central High School Principal Steven Gering has been chosen winner of a Golden Apple Award for 2010 by Seattle public broadcasting station KCTS 9. Gering was among 200 nominees from across the state.

According to a press release from Spokane Public Schools, the Golden Apple Awards honor individuals and programs epitomizing excellence in education in public and private schools in Washington.

Mead, Mt. Spokane announce AP honors

Students from Mead and Mt. Spokane high schools recently earned AP Scholar status for their academic excellence on their college-level Advanced Placement Program exams.

• National AP Scholar distinction is awarded to students who receive an average grade of 4.0 on all AP exams taken and grades of 4.0 or higher on eight or more of the exams. The honorees are:

Mt. Spokane: Derrick Cunningham and Ryan Hervey.

• AP Scholars With Distinction, given to students who receive an average grade of 3.5 on all AP exams taken and grades of 3.0 or higher on five or more of the exams, are:

Mead: Jarom Abel, Jennifer Choi, Gabriella Greco, Alexander Hilborn, Brandon Horan, Elizabeth Noonan, Conor Reisman, Taylor Sims, Kevin Tsuchida and Matthew Wasson.

Mt. Spokane: Jaclyn Brim, Derrick Cunningham, Megan Erickson, Brandon Graham, Ryan Hervey, Justin Johnson, Mary Konis, Kaylie Madsen, Tomas McGriff, Katherine Todaro and Ben Whitfield.

• AP Scholars with Honor, granted to students who receive an average grade of 3.25 on all AP exams taken and grades of 3.0 or higher on four or more of the exams, are:

Mead: Courtney Bagdon, Kaitlyn Kadel, Kelsey McQuilkin, Roman Nugen, Bryce Peters, Katherine Rahn, Jonathan Rogers, Margaret Samson and Katrina Stime.

Mt. Spokane: Christopher Baldwin, Brooke Batterton, Dillon Fischer, Aleksey Lipuzhin, Carlie McGregor, Taylor McGregor, Sarah Patton, Alexander Price, Daniel Skrei and Harilaos Tsarbopoulos.

• AP Scholars, awarded to students who receive grades of 3.0 or higher on three or more AP exams, are:

Mead: Julia Baker, Levi Basinger, Mallory Burgess, Mitchell Cain, James DeRocher, Bryanna Dooley, Lauren Facer, Katherine Fraser, Jordan Hardy, Taylor Jensen, Ashley Jones, Blake Jones, Mitchell Kayser, Kathryn NcNevin, Olivia Ogino, Jacob Poutre, Kylie Pybus, Amanda Sams, Damiano Seghetti, Tyler Smith, Jared Tucker, Bo Tully, DeEstan Turner and Zachary Widmer.

Mt. Spokane: Jenna Alaskar, Alex Anderson, Reed Baker, James Biddle, Alix Bold, Ashton Boothroyd, Molly Brown, Stephanie Brown, Stephanie Carr, Kara Contabile, Carrie Crosby, Elisha Deitz, Sarah Fullmer, Keara Haley, Kesslan Hall, Christina Houk, Taylor Jordan, Stephen Jue, Alexa Kerr, Zachery Klemmer, Jessica Levy, Rebecca Martin, Valerie Nauditt, Alyson Nicol, Samantha Jo Pace, Christopher Petersen, Sadie Peterson, Jill Pignataro, Katherine Preston, Tatyana Shuvarikov, Megan Sikes and Jeremy Urann.