April 4, 2011 in Nation/World

Ladies take top country music awards

Lambert wins four trophies; Swift named entertainer of year
Chris Talbott Associated Press

Taylor Swift
(Full-size photo)(All photos)

45th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards


• Entertainer of the year: Taylor Swift

• Top male vocalist: Brad Paisley

• Top female vocalist: Miranda Lambert

• Top vocal group: Lady Antebellum

• Top vocal duo: Sugarland

• Top new artist: The Band Perry

• Top new solo vocalist: Eric Church

• Top new vocal duo or group: The Band Perry

• Album of the year: “Need you Now,” Lady Antebellum

• Single record of the year: “The House That Built Me,” Miranda Lambert

• Song of the year: “The House That Built Me,” Miranda Lambert

• Video of the year: “The House That Built Me,” Miranda Lambert

• Vocal event of the year: “As She’s Walking Away,” Zac Brown Band featuring Alan Jackson

LAS VEGAS – The young women of country ruled the Academy of Country Music Awards on Sunday night, with Taylor Swift winning the prestigious entertainer of the year award and the night’s top nominee, Miranda Lambert, taking home a leading four trophies.

Swift did a little dance and hugged Brad Paisley and Lambert on the way to the stage after winning the fan-voted award, the only major ACM award determined by popular vote; peers and industry insiders determine the others.

“This is the first time that I’ve ever won this and I’m just losing my mind,” said the 21-year-old, whose album “Speak Now” sold 1 million copies in its first week when it was released last fall. “The fact that this is from the fans makes it so special.”

Lambert, 28, was also up for entertainer of the year. While she lost that award, she was the night’s big winner. Her “The House That Built Me,” written by Allen Shamblin and Tom Douglas, won song, single record and video of the year; she shared in all of those wins. She also won her second straight award for top female vocalist.

Lady Antebellum continued its scorching run behind its breakthrough album “Need You Now,” finishing the night with three trophies. The trio of Hillary Scott, Charles Kelley and Dave Haywood, which won five Grammys earlier this year, won album of the year as artist and producer, and also won top vocal group for the second straight year.

Brad Paisley claimed his fifth straight top male vocalist of the year award, a win he said felt as good as his first.

Sugarland won vocal duo of the year for the second time.

The Band Perry claimed the best new artist award moments after singing their hit “If I Die Young.” It was the trio of two brothers and one sister’s second win after taking home top new vocal duo or group before the awards. They were competing with Eric Church for top new artist.

© Copyright 2011 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

There is one comment on this story. Click here to view comment >>

Get stories like this in a free daily email